Home Espresso GuideWhich machine, and why.

Machine review · updated 28 August 2026

Smeg BCC12 espresso machine review

Buy the Smeg if you want a machine that looks like this and you have accepted that you are paying for that. Do not buy it expecting the evidence you would get on anything else at this money: it carries 83 Amazon reviews, and those 83 are pooled with a different Smeg machine. Everything below is what that does and does not let us tell you.

83 reviews, and the number is worse than it looks

Every other machine on this site is backed by a corpus you can actually read. The Barista Express has 27,821 reviews behind it — 335 times this listing’s count. The Ninja Luxe Café, launched far more recently and sold at almost the same price, has 2,467, or 30 times as many. The Smeg has 83.

That alone would be worth saying plainly. What makes it sharper is where the 83 come from. Amazon groups this machine into a variation family under parent ASIN B0DFXQWFVF, and the other listing in that family is not another colour of the same machine. It is Smeg’s manual espresso machine — a 51 mm portafilter, 15 bar advertised, ground coffee or pods, no grinder, at $499.95.

Both report 83 reviews, 4.0 stars, and the same three review topics with the same counts. That is one corpus shown on two product pages, so nobody outside Amazon can say how many of those 83 reviews describe the machine on this page.

Worked example

What the 83 reviews actually cover

Counts read from Amazon's own listings on 28 August 2026. Nothing is estimated — these are Amazon's published numbers, put next to each other.

  1. 1Reviews shown on the Smeg BCC12 listing4.0 stars. ASIN B0F1VR9TNG.83
  2. 2Reviews shown on Smeg's manual espresso machine4.0 stars, ASIN B0D6CS1SLT — a 51 mm portafilter machine, no grinder, $499.95.83
  3. 3Parent ASIN both listings reportThe same one — a pooled variation family, not two independent products.B0DFXQWFVF
  4. 4Review mentions across all 3 topics Amazon namesEspresso quality 16 · Appearance 10 · Functionality 6. The Ninja Luxe Café: 1,893 across eight.32
  5. 5Barista Express reviews under durability aloneOne topic on one machine, 27 times the Smeg's entire topic corpus.861
  6. 6Bought-in-past-month figure Amazon publishesIt publishes 4,000+ a month for the CASABREWS CM5418 and 1,000+ for the Barista Express.None

This is not a machine anyone can tell you is reliable, and it is not a machine anyone can tell you is unreliable. A 4.0 star average over a pooled corpus of 83 is a number with almost no information in it. Read it as an absence of evidence rather than as evidence of a problem, and buy accordingly — from somewhere returns are straightforward, and with the receipt kept.

A page that writes two thousand confident words about how this machine performs is writing fiction. We would rather tell you that once than imply otherwise for the length of a review.

Smeg83Ninja2,467Express27,821
Circle area is proportional to the number of Amazon reviews on each listing, read 28 August 2026. The three machines sit within about a hundred dollars of each other. The evidence behind them is not within an order of magnitude.

This is not specific to one listing. Smeg’s other espresso machine on Amazon US, a semi-automatic listed near $999.95, carries 76 ratings at 4.2 stars. Thin is the brand’s condition in this market, not this machine’s misfortune.

Buying a machine for how it looks is a real reason

The dismissive version of this review writes itself, and it is wrong. A coffee machine is not a tool you keep in a drawer. It sits out, at eye level, every day for years. If the object annoys you every morning, that is a cost you pay every morning.

And there is genuinely nothing else here doing it. Every machine on this site at this money is brushed stainless or black plastic in a rectangle. The Smeg listing offers seven finishes — black, cream, pastel blue, pastel green, pink, red and white — which is not a spec, it is the product. Nobody cross-shops a pastel green espresso machine against a Barista Express on portafilter diameter. They have already decided what they want the kitchen to look like and are working out what it costs.

So here is what it costs. At $599.95 you are inside a hundred dollars of both the Barista Express and the Ninja Luxe Café. Against the Express you give up 27,738 reviews’ worth of track record; against the Ninja, a machine that also makes drip and cold brew. What you get back is a machine you like looking at. That is a defensible trade. It is only a bad trade if nobody tells you that you are making it.

Smeg BCC12 Automatic
If the look is the reason, this is the machine

Smeg BCC12 Automatic

Thermoblock heating, built-in grinder, manual "Steam Stick" wand, 1350 W, seven finishes. Check the return window before you commit.

View on Amazon

$599.95 · 83 reviews

What the listing says, and what it does not

Two of the three machines below do not publish a portafilter size. On the Smeg that gap is not an oversight, and it is what will most surprise a buyer who cross-shopped it against a Breville.

SpecSmeg BCC12 AutomaticBreville Barista Express (BES870XL)Ninja Luxe Café Premier (ES601)
Price (snapshot)$599.95$699.95$599.99
HeatingThermoblockNot stated by the listingNot stated by the listing
PortafilterNot stated54 mmNot stated
Built-in grinderYesYesYes
MilkManual steam wand“Steam Stick”, per the product nameManual steam wandSteam wand — listing's spec field says “Manual”Automatic steam wandListing operation mode is “Fully Automatic”
Power1350 W1600 W1650 W
Water tank40 oz67 ozNot stated
Advertised pressureNot statedNot statedNot stated
Amazon rating4.0★ (83)4.4★ (27,821)4.2★ (2,467)
Snapshot 28 August 2026. "Not stated" means the listing publishes no usable figure. The Smeg's tank is blank because our data records none; its feature text states 40 oz — see below.

This is very probably not a portafilter machine. The listing’s own spec fields read Coffee Input Type: Whole Bean and Operation Mode: Fully Automatic, with Integrated Coffee Grinder as the special feature and a button interface. Its feature text promises drinks at the touch of a button. Nothing anywhere on the page describes a portafilter, a basket, a tamper or a dose. Read together those fields describe a bean-to-cup machine: you load beans, press a button, and it grinds and brews without you handling coffee. Smeg never says that in one sentence, so we report the fields rather than assert a mechanism on the brand’s behalf — but if you pictured locking in a portafilter, that is not what these specs describe.

It matters more than any other line in the table. A Barista Express and a Smeg BCC12 are not two versions of the same hobby. One asks you to dose, tamp and dial in; the other asks you to press a button. Neither is better, but they are different purchases, and the gap between them is the one laid out in De’Longhi vs Breville, which is the same bean-to-cup-against-portafilter question with different badges on it. Read that before you spend $599.95 on either kind.

Three smaller untidinesses, all of them the listing contradicting itself. Its title says eight coffee drinks; its features say six, plus hot water and steam. Its voltage field reads 220 volts on a model sold in the United States. Its tank appears twice — 40 ounces in the feature text, 1.13 litres in the capacity field, about 38. None is a reason not to buy. Together they warn that the listing is not carefully maintained, on a machine where the listing is nearly all the information there is.

One spec is unambiguous: at 7.09 inches wide it is the narrowest of the three, about 120 square inches of counter against 173 for the Barista Express and 181 for the Ninja. It is deep rather than wide, at 16.93 inches, so it wants a run of counter, not a gap between cabinets.

What buyers report, and how far it goes

What buyers report — Smeg BCC12 Automaticpatterns across 83 Amazon reviews · 4.0★ · read 28 August 2026
  • Mixed: Amazon groups the whole corpus into three topics totalling 32 mentions — espresso quality (16), appearance (10), functionality (6). — the Ninja Luxe Café's listing names eight topics across 1,893 mentions
  • Praised: Appearance is the only topic with no negative mentions at all: 10 of 10 positive. — the one thing the corpus agrees on is the thing people bought it for
  • Praised: Espresso quality runs 12 positive to 4 negative across 16 mentions. — leaning positive, on a sample far too small to call a rate
  • Complaint: Functionality is the negative topic — 4 of 6 mentions negative, and Amazon's own summary of this listing says several customers reported units that did not work properly. — 6 mentions is an anecdote count, not a failure rate
  • Mixed: The corpus is pooled: this listing and Smeg's manual, 51 mm portafilter machine share parent ASIN B0DFXQWFVF and report identical ratings, review counts and topic counts. — an unknown share of these mentions describe a different machine

Counts are Amazon's own review-topic aggregation on this listing — how many reviews it groups under each topic and how they split. Not quoted from individual reviews, not collected by us, and not from testing, which this site does not do. Read 28 August 2026. The corpus is pooled across a variation family containing a different Smeg machine, so every count above is an upper bound.

Those five lines are everything the public record supports, and four of them are about the record rather than the machine. A theme needs a corpus big enough for a pattern to separate from noise, and 32 mentions across three topics is not one — six people describing a fault is six people, and on this listing it is not even certain all six owned this machine.

What we will say is which way the two useful signals point. Appearance is unanimous, 10 out of 10: people who bought it for the look got the look. And the negative topic is not about coffee, taste, milk or noise — it is about units arriving or turning faulty. That is not a failure rate you can plan around, but it tells you which risk to insure against, and the insurance is the return window.

What it gives up

Track record. Everything above. This is the machine’s defining disadvantage and it is not a small one, because it is the disadvantage you cannot buy your way out of with more money or resolve by reading more carefully.

Control, if you wanted control. The listing describes a machine that decides the shot for you. If dialling in a grind and watching a shot run is the part you were looking forward to, this is not it — and a machine that hands you that for less money is the Gaggia E24, which uses the 58 mm commercial portafilter size rather than a proprietary one.

Milk help. The “Steam Stick” is a manual wand. Everything about the milk is your technique, on a machine otherwise built around not needing technique — which is a slightly odd split, and worth knowing if automatic milk was the thing you were shopping for.

Who should buy something else

Anyone whose first question was “is it good”. If you came here wanting to be told the espresso is excellent, buy the Barista Express instead. Not because it is better — because 27,821 reviews mean the question has an answer. Spending $599.95 on evidence this thin only makes sense when your reason does not depend on the evidence. “I want this object” is that reason; “I hope it is good” is not.

Breville Barista Express (BES870XL)
If you want the answer, not the object

Breville Barista Express (BES870XL)

4.4★ across 27,821 reviews, built-in conical burr grinder, 54 mm portafilter. 27,821 reviews against this machine’s 83.

View on Amazon

$699.95 · 27,821 reviews

Anyone who wants one machine to do everything. The Ninja Luxe Café makes espresso, drip and cold brew in one body at almost this price, and its listing groups 1,893 review mentions into eight topics, so you can read what owners actually find. Where its compromises land is set out in Ninja Luxe Café vs Barista Express.

Anyone testing whether they like espresso at all. Finding out costs nothing like $599.95. The CASABREWS CM5418 sells around 4,000 a month and will tell you whether the daily routine is one you want, with a great deal less at stake if the answer is no.

And if the colour is the point, buy it. That is not a consolation ending. Wanting the kitchen to look a particular way is a legitimate reason to spend money, and it is the one reason thin evidence does not undermine. The 83 reviews cannot tell you the coffee is excellent. They can tell you it looks the way the pictures say — 10 out of 10 on that, the only thing on this page anybody agrees about.

Where this leaves you

Buy it for the object, with your eyes open about the evidence

  • 83 Amazon reviews at 4.0★, pooled with a different Smeg machine under parent ASIN B0DFXQWFVF — so the true count for this model is lower, and unknowable.
  • Seven finishes, and nothing else near $599.95 offers a colour at all. That is what the money buys.
  • Whole-bean input, fully automatic operation, no portafilter published. If you pictured dosing and tamping, this is not that machine.
  • No bought-in-past-month figure, no answered questions, and a listing contradicting itself on drink count, voltage and tank size. Buy where returns are easy.

Price and rating are Amazon's, read 28 August 2026, and change without notice. We do not test machines and do not claim to.

Smeg BCC12 Automatic
Smeg

BCC12 Automatic

$599.95

View on Amazon

How this page was put together, and what our method can and cannot prove, is set out in our editorial policy.