Machine review · updated 28 August 2026
Breville Barista Touch review
Buy the Barista Touch if you want the machine to texture milk for you and you still want to lock a portafilter into a group head yourself. Those two wants together are the whole reason it exists. If the milk part does not matter, the Barista Pro is the same machine with a manual wand for $138.04 less. If holding the portafilter does not matter either, you should not be shopping portafilter machines at all. This page is those two questions, in that order.
It sits on a line, and the line is the story
Breville’s range is a ladder of things the machine stops asking you to do. The Barista Express grinds and doses for you and leaves the milk alone. The Barista Pro does the same with a display instead of a dial. The Barista Touch adds a touchscreen and takes the milk off your hands. The Oracle Touch, one rung up, also tamps for you — and tamping is the last physical skill in the process.
So the Touch is the most hands-off machine here that still involves a portafilter at all. That is not marketing; it is a description of where it sits. You still grind into a basket, still trim the dose with the razor tool the listing says is in the box, still lock the handle in and still watch the shot. Everything after that, the machine will do.
Step sideways rather than up and the picture changes completely. A bean-to-cup machine like De’Longhi’s Magnifica Start has no portafilter, no basket and no tamp: beans in one end, latte out the other. It also costs less than the Barista Pro. If the ritual is not the point, that is not a compromise — it is the correct machine, and the Touch is an expensive way to keep a job you did not want.
What the milk step costs, twice over
The Barista Pro and the Barista Touch share a portafilter size, a wattage and a tank, and both grind into the basket for you. The material difference is the milk. That makes this one of the cleanest upgrade decisions in the category, because almost nothing else moves.
Worked example
The automation ladder, priced
Snapshot prices from 28 August 2026. Prices move constantly; what does not move is the shape — one small step and one enormous one, either side of this machine.
- 1Breville Barista ProBuilt-in grinder, manual steam wand, ThermoJet heating, digital display.$849.95
- 2Breville Barista TouchThe same machine, plus a touchscreen and milk it textures for you.$987.99
- 3The milk step16% on top of the Pro's price.$138.04
- 4The same step on the BambinoBambino to Bambino Plus buys the same thing, and that is 63% on top of the base machine.$190.00
- 5Breville Oracle TouchAdds automatic tamping, a dual boiler and a 58 mm portafilter.$2300.95
- 6The tamping step9.5 times the cost of the milk step, for one less thing to do.$1312.96
- 7De'Longhi Magnifica StartNo portafilter at all — and cheaper than the Pro, never mind the Touch.$694.00
Automatic milk is far better value here than it is lower down the range. It costs $138.04 on the Barista Pro and $190.00 on the Bambino — so the more expensive machine charges you less in absolute money and roughly a quarter as much as a share of what you are already spending (16% against 63%). If you have already decided to spend at this level, the milk upgrade is the cheapest part of the decision.
Per drink it stops sounding like much at all. Two milk drinks a day across the 730 days of the listing’s stated repair warranty is 1,460 drinks, making the milk step about 9.5 cents a drink here and 13.0 on the Bambino. That assumption is printed so you can disagree with it: make one cappuccino a week and the arithmetic inverts.
The counter-argument nobody making it will admit: a manual steam wand is not hard. It is a week of learning curve, and people who have the skill tend to prefer it. The honest split is not skilled versus unskilled. It is whether you want to be present while milk textures, most mornings, for years. Some people find that the nicest part of the day. Others are getting two children out of the door. Only one of you should buy this machine.
The same decision, at a third of the money and a much larger share of it, is laid out in Bambino vs Bambino Plus. The reasoning transfers exactly; only the numbers change. And the direct head-to-head for this pair is Barista Pro vs Barista Touch.

Breville Barista Pro (BES878)
Same built-in grinder, same 54 mm portafilter, same 1680 W, manual steam wand. If you are not certain you want milk handled for you, this is the machine to beat — and it rates higher.
$849.95 · 3,413 reviews
The spec sheet, and one field that tells you nothing
| Spec | Breville Barista Pro (BES878) | Breville Barista Touch (BES880) | Breville Oracle Touch (BES990) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price (snapshot) | $849.95 | $987.99 | $2300.95 |
| Heating, per the listing | ThermoJet | Listing does not name one | Dual boiler |
| Portafilter | Not stated | 54 mm | 58 mm |
| Built-in grinder | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Milk | Manual steam wand | Automatic steam wandListing operation mode is “Fully Automatic” | Automatic steam wand |
| Power | 1680 W | 1680 W | Not stated |
| Water tank | Not stated | Not stated | 67 oz |
| Amazon rating | 4.4★ (3,413) | 4.2★ (3,895) | 3.4★ (597) |
Read across the Pro and the Touch and the table is nearly a straight line: both 54 mm, both 1680 W, and neither listing states a tank size we can stand behind. The Oracle Touch breaks the pattern in the one place that matters to anyone buying accessories — 58 mm, the commercial standard, which the rest of the Breville range here is not.
The heating row is the interesting one, because it is empty. How a machine heats water decides whether you wait twenty minutes or twenty seconds. The Barista Pro’s listing names ThermoJet; the Oracle Touch’s names a dual boiler; the Barista Touch’s names nothing at all — not in the bullets, not in the description, not in the spec table. Nor does it state a water-tank size. We will not fill either in from what a BES880 is generally understood to have, because that is the kind of half-remembered fact that turns out to describe a different revision.
Now the field to distrust. The listing records this machine’s operation mode as “Fully Automatic”, and that string is the main structured evidence on it that the milk is automated at all. The same string sits on 2 other machines here: the Ninja Luxe Café, whose listing never states its portafilter size, and the Magnifica Start, which has no portafilter whatsoever. One field, three machines, three entirely different mornings.
Worth knowing before you spend: the Bambino Plus’s listing headlines an “Automatic Milk Steam Wand” in plain words. This one does not. Its entire feature text on Amazon is one bullet listing what is in the box, which is not a description of what the machine does. If automatic milk is the whole reason you are paying the $138.04, confirm it on the product page in front of you rather than on our say-so.
4.2 stars, and the shape underneath them
The Barista Touch costs more than the Barista Pro and rates lower than it. 4.2 across 3,895 Amazon reviews against the Pro’s 4.4 across 3,413 — two corpora large enough that this is not a small-sample wobble. Whatever the touchscreen and the milk system add, they did not add satisfaction. Amazon’s topic breakdown says fairly clearly why.
- Praised: Performance is by far the largest cluster: 569 mentions, 482 of them positive. — when it works, almost nobody argues with what comes out of the cup
- Praised: Ease of use draws 229 mentions and only 30 negative ones, with the on-screen prompts named as the reason. — the touchscreen is doing the job it was added to do
- Praised: Coffee quality is a separate cluster of 215 mentions, 176 positive, mostly about milk drinks rather than straight espresso.
- Praised: Ease of cleaning runs 94 mentions, 67 positive, and the machine prompting its own cleaning cycle is the recurring reason. — an automated machine that also nags you about descaling is a real advantage over a dial
- Complaint: Durability is the corpus's clear problem: 113 mentions, 89 of them negative, describing failure months after purchase rather than on arrival. — this is where the 4.2 comes from, and it is not a shipping-damage pattern
- Mixed: Reliability splits 297 mentions into 132 positive against 165 negative — the only large topic where the negatives win. — the machine is not uniformly bad or uniformly fine, and a star average hides that completely
- Mixed: Value for money is genuinely contested across 282 mentions: 176 positive, 106 negative. — people who kept it working think it was worth it; people who did not, emphatically do not
Counts are Amazon's own review-topic aggregation on this listing, read 29 August 2026 — how many reviews it groups under each topic and how each splits. Not quoted from individual reviews, not gathered by us, and not from testing, which we do not do.
Those blocks say two things at once and both are true. On what the machine does, the corpus is overwhelming: 85% of performance mentions are positive and 87% of ease-of-use mentions are. On whether it keeps doing it, 79% of durability mentions are negative and 56% of reliability mentions are — the only large topic on the listing where the negatives outnumber the positives.
The pattern in the negative half is failure some months in, not a machine that arrives broken, and that distinction decides what protects you. The listing states a two-year repair warranty and a 30-day refund window — the right number to weigh against a months-in failure pattern, and the reason to buy where a claim is straightforward rather than from whoever is fifteen dollars cheaper.
This is not us calling it a lemon. A large majority pulling happy shots and a meaningful minority with a dead machine inside two years are both real, and a star average is the worst possible summary of that. But it means “4.2 stars” should not be read as “slightly worse espresso”. The risk you are pricing is not disappointment. It is a repair.
The tool on this page, and the one that is not
We have deliberately not put our grind-troubleshooting tool on this page, and the reason is the machine. A Bambino owner is dialling in a separate grinder that has never met the machine, so “finer or coarser?” is the first week’s whole question. The Barista Touch grinds, doses and prompts on-screen through the same adjustment. Putting a grind dialler here would be padding — the machine is already the tool.
What the machine does not decide for you is the ratio. The relationship between the dry coffee going into the basket and the liquid espresso arriving in the cup is a choice, not a setting, and it changes a shot more than any upgrade on this page. Automation does not touch it. That is what this is for.
Brew ratio and flow rate
Runs in your browser. Nothing is sent anywhere.
One practical note. Use the single-wall baskets the listing says are in the box, not the dual-wall ones. Dual-wall baskets manufacture crema through a restriction on the way out, from anything, including stale supermarket grounds — which makes the grinder you just paid for irrelevant.
What it gives up
54 mm fittings. Breville’s size across this range, so baskets and tampers are easy to buy, but it is not the 58 mm commercial standard — and the Oracle Touch above it is 58 mm, as is the far cheaper Gaggia E24. If you expect to buy aftermarket baskets and bottomless portafilters for years, that is a real constraint you are accepting.
Foam you chose in advance. An automatic wand textures to a set temperature and foam level and stops. That is the feature. It also means the milk is the same every time whether or not the same is what today needed, and it means latte art is harder than with a wand you are steering yourself.
More to go wrong. A touchscreen, a grinder, a milk sensor and a pump in one body is more failure surface than a Bambino, and the durability topic above suggests that is not theoretical.
A model late in its run. US search demand for this specific machine is down about 64% year on year. That is not evidence about the espresso and we will not pretend it is, but fewer people shopping a model usually means a design nearer the end of its life than the start. Check what Breville currently sells above and below it before you commit, and expect discounts rather than scarcity.
Who should buy something else
If you will happily steam milk yourself. The Barista Pro is the same machine minus that one thing, $138.04 cheaper and rated 4.4 against 4.2. It is the default answer for most people who land on this page, and we would rather say so than sell you up.
If you do not want to be involved in the shot at all. Then a portafilter is a chore you are paying to keep. A bean-to-cup super-automatic grinds, doses, tamps internally and pours from a button, and the Magnifica Start does it for less than the Barista Pro costs. That is a different hobby, not a worse machine, and De’Longhi vs Breville is the page that argues it properly. Buying the Touch and never wanting to touch it is the most common expensive mistake in this part of the range.
If tamping is the part you want gone. That is the Oracle Touch, $1312.96 more — 9.5 times what the milk step cost. Before you consider it, read what its 597 reviews average: 3.4 stars, the lowest in this entire set. Barista Touch vs Oracle Touch puts the two side by side, including what the dual boiler and the 58 mm group actually buy and what the ratings say about whether it lands.
If the grinder is the part you care about. A separate grinder outlives the machine beside it; a built-in one dies with it. That case is made in the Bambino review.
Where this leaves you
The right buy if you want automatic milk and still want to pull the shot
- Automatic milk over the Barista Pro costs $138.04, or 16% — against 63% for the same upgrade on a Bambino.
- 4.2★ across 3,895 Amazon reviews, with durability the clear source of the low ones: 89 of 113 durability mentions are negative.
- The listing states a two-year repair warranty and a 30-day refund window. Buy where a claim is easy to make.
- Wrong machine if you never wanted to hold a portafilter — a bean-to-cup costs less and suits you better.
Price and rating are Amazon's, read 28 August 2026, and change without notice. We do not test machines and do not claim to.
How this page was put together, and what our method can and cannot prove, is set out in our editorial policy.
