Machine review · updated 28 August 2026
Breville Bambino Plus review
Buy the Bambino Plus if a milk drink is your daily habit, you would rather the machine decided when the milk is finished, and you have already accepted that a grinder is a second purchase. On the evidence it does that job well — across 2,411 Amazon reviews the coffee itself is barely disputed. Two things to know before you spend the money. Its own review corpus is hardest on whether it keeps working, and the cheaper machine it is built from outsells it about 5 to 1.
What is actually in the box
The headline function is one button. You set a milk temperature and a foam level, drop the wand into the jug, press steam and walk away; the machine stops when it gets there and then purges its own heating system so the next shot is not brewed with steam-temperature water. That auto purge is a listed feature, not an inference, and it is the part of the automation that does something for your espresso rather than your milk.
The accessories list is more generous than the cheaper machine’s and worth reading before you buy anything separately. Breville’s listing names a 16 fl oz stainless milk jug, a 54 mm tamper, a cleaning tool and disc, filter baskets, and the Razor precision dosing tool — the trimming blade that levels a dose to a repeatable height. If you were planning to buy a jug and a tamper anyway, those are already accounted for.
What is not in the box is a grinder, and that is not a detail. A 54 mm basket taking a 19 gram dose only works if you can move the grind a fraction at a time, and supermarket pre-ground is fixed at whatever the bag was set to. The full arithmetic of what that second purchase does to the price and the counter space is in our Breville Bambino review, and it applies here unchanged — same portafilter, same dose, same absence. The short version is that the honest price of this machine is $689.90 rather than $489.95, if the grinder you pair it with is the Smart Grinder Pro most owners reach for.
The two-year warranty is not a footnote
Breville’s listing states a two-year limited product warranty in both its feature bullets and Amazon’s structured warranty field. The base Bambino’s listing states one year in exactly the same two places. That is a doubling, on the spec that this machine’s review corpus argues about most.
Warranty length is usually the dullest line on a spec sheet. It is not dull here. Durability is the weakest topic on this listing by a distance — 95 mentions with only 14 positive — and Amazon’s own summary of that topic describes machines failing inside the first year. A second year of manufacturer cover sits directly on top of the window the complaints cluster in. Whatever else you make of the numbers below, that is the single most useful thing the extra money buys, and it is not the thing the marketing leads with.
Two caveats, because the warranty is only as good as claiming it. It is a manufacturer warranty, not a retailer return window, so a failure in month fourteen means dealing with Breville rather than sending the machine back. And a warranty replaces a machine; it does not give you back the mornings without one.

Breville Bambino Plus (BES500)
Sets a milk temperature and foam level and stops on its own, purges the heat system after steaming, and carries a two-year limited warranty against the base Bambino's one.
$489.95 · 2,411 reviews
The spec sheet, and the two places the listing argues with itself
Below is what the three listings publish, with nothing filled in from anywhere else.
| Spec | Breville Bambino Plus (BES500) | Breville Bambino (BES450) | Breville Barista Express (BES870XL) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price (snapshot) | $489.95 | $299.95 | $699.95 |
| Heating | ThermoJet | ThermoJet | Not stated by the listing |
| Portafilter | Not stated | 54 mm | 54 mm |
| Built-in grinder | No | No | Yes |
| Milk | Automatic steam wand“Automatic Milk Steam Wand”; adjustable milk temperature and texture level | Automatic steam wandSteam wand — listing's spec field says “Manual”, its own bullets say automatic | Manual steam wandSteam wand — listing's spec field says “Manual” |
| Power | 1560 W | 1560 W | 1600 W |
| Water tank | Not stated | Not stated | 67 oz |
| Advertised pressure | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Amazon rating | 4.1★ (2,411) | 4.0★ (2,598) | 4.4★ (27,821) |
The Plus is one of the few machines in this category whose listing will name its heating system: ThermoJet, with a three-second claim to extraction temperature. That is Breville’s figure and not a measurement of ours. It is worth noticing which cell in that table is empty — the Barista Express, a machine with a review corpus more than ten times this one and costs more, publishes no heating system at all. Heating is the most consequential spec on a home machine and most of this category will not print it.
Now the two problems, both of which are the listing’s and neither of which we are going to resolve for it.
It contradicts itself about how wide it is. Amazon’s structured dimensions field reads 7.6″D × 12.5″W × 12.2″H. The listing’s own COMPACT DESIGN bullet, four lines above it, says “with a width of 7.7 inches”. Those cannot both be the width. The likeliest reading is that the two horizontal figures are labelled the wrong way round in the structured field, which would put the machine at roughly 7.6 or 7.7 inches across the front and 12.5 inches deep — but that is us guessing at Amazon’s labelling, and if a specific counter gap is what you are solving, measure the machine when it arrives rather than trusting either number. What is safe to say is that the two figures multiply to the same footprint whichever way round they go.
Its capacity field is junk. Amazon’s Capacity field on this listing reads “4 pounds”. Pounds are not a volume, and nothing in the feature text states a tank size either, which is why the water tank row above says “Not stated” rather than carrying a number. Do not read that blank as “small”. It means the listing does not say. If you find a confident tank figure for this machine elsewhere, ask where it came from, because it did not come from here. The same field reads “1 cups” on the Barista Express, so this is a category-wide defect rather than one bad page.
What buyers report
Amazon groups this listing’s reviews into eight named topics. Below is what those topics say, followed by what happens when you add them up.
- Praised: Performance is the largest topic on the listing at 401 mentions, 306 of them positive. — whatever else is disputed, the machine doing its job is not
- Praised: Espresso quality is the cleanest split in the corpus — 201 mentions, only 20 negative. — the automatic milk has not cost anything in the cup
- Praised: Ease of use draws 194 mentions, 153 positive, and compact size a further 91.
- Mixed: Maintenance runs 61 positive against 49 negative across 110 mentions, covering both the self-cleaning wand and the cleaning cycles the machine prompts for. — the automation adds a chore as well as removing one
- Mixed: Value for money is contested at 206 mentions and an almost even split, 105 positive against 101 negative. — buyers here argue with themselves about the price in a way the cheaper machine's buyers do not
- Mixed: Reliability leans negative — 321 mentions, 142 positive against 179 negative.
- Complaint: Durability is the corpus's clear weak point: 95 mentions, only 14 of them positive, and Amazon's own summary of the topic describes units failing inside the first year. — this is where the missing star comes from
Topic names and sentiment splits are Amazon's own review-topic aggregation for this listing, read 29 August 2026 and summarised rather than quoted. Every total here is computed as positive + negative, never taken from Amazon's mentions_count field, which is unreliable on listings in this category. Amazon generates the groupings, so a topic being absent is not evidence nobody raised it. We have not used this machine.
Worked example
Adding up all eight topics on this listing
Amazon names eight review topics on this listing and splits each into positive and negative. Grouping them by what they are about turns a set of counts into a shape. Every total is computed as positive + negative.
- 1Does it do the job — performance, espresso quality, ease of use, size174 of those mentions are negative — 20%.887
- 2Living with it — maintenance and cleaning cycles49 negative — 45%.110
- 3Does it keep doing it, and was it worth it — reliability, durability, value361 negative — 58%.622
- 4All eight topics together584 negative overall, or 36% of everything Amazon has grouped.1619
The complaints are not about the coffee. They are about the calendar. On what the machine does, 20% of mentions are negative. On whether it keeps doing it and whether that was money well spent, 58% are. Those are two different machines described in one corpus, and the 4.1★ average is the worst possible summary of both.
Read it as a reason to register the warranty and buy where returns are simple, not as a failure rate. A review corpus is self-selected: people write when a machine breaks far more readily than when it does not, so 58% of mentions is a strong signal about what owners choose to write about and a much weaker one about how many units fail.
Drawn as areas, the same numbers make the point faster. Every circle below is one topic’s negative mentions.
Reliability reads worse here than on the cheaper machine
This is the finding a page selling you the upgrade would leave out. Both listings name reliability and durability as topics, so those two are directly comparable. On the Plus, reliability runs 56% negative across 321 mentions. On the base Bambino it runs 47% across 236. Durability is almost identical on both — 85% negative here, 82% there — which is what you would expect from two machines built on the same body.
So the more expensive machine reads 9 points worse on reliability and no better on durability. Whatever you are buying with the extra $190, it is not a machine that lasts longer. That is worth saying plainly because the two-year warranty invites exactly the opposite inference: a longer warranty is cover against failure, not evidence of a sturdier machine, and reading it as the second thing is the mistake this spec is most likely to cause.
Two limits on that comparison. Amazon names a different topic set on each listing — the base Bambino has topics for heating speed, brew time and taste that the Plus does not, and the Plus has performance, maintenance and value that the base does not — so only the two shared topics can be lined up, and the overall percentages cannot. And the automatic wand is more mechanism than a manual one, which is a plausible reason for more reports of things stopping, but plausible is not the same as demonstrated. We have not taken either machine apart.
Why it sells at a fifth the rate of the machine it is built from
Amazon’s badge says 400+ bought in the past month against 2,000+ for the base Bambino, and its category ranking agrees independently: eleventh in semi-automatic espresso machines against the base model’s fourth, read the same day. A machine being the minority choice inside its own two-model family is unusual enough to explain rather than skip.
The lifetime evidence does not show the same gap. This listing carries 2,411 reviews against the base model’s 2,598 — 93% as many, effectively level. Two listings with comparable review histories and a fivefold difference in current monthly rate is not a machine that has always been unpopular. It is a machine losing a live argument at the point of sale.
The reason is not mysterious, and it is not that the Plus is bad. Automatic milk texturing is the only thing separating them, so every buyer meets the same question and $190 is a lot of money to answer it with. The base machine gets recommended by default nearly everywhere, its manual wand turns out to be far easier than its reputation, and the money saved covers most of a grinder that both machines need. Roughly five out of six buyers work through that and take the cheaper box — and because Amazon applies its “bought last month” badge unevenly, read that as a strong direction rather than a measured ratio.
None of which tells you they were right for you. It tells you that buying this machine means being deliberate: you should be able to say how many milk drinks a week you make and why you do not want to learn to steam them, and if you cannot, the crowd is probably describing you. If that is the question you are still on, it is settled properly in Bambino vs Bambino Plus rather than here. One thing that page has to untangle is worth flagging even in a standalone review: the base Bambino’s listing carries the identical automatic-milk marketing bullet to this one while its structured field says “Manual”, so the two pages do not separate cleanly on the spec you are choosing between them on. This listing is the unambiguous one of the pair.
The wall you will hit in week one
This tool is here because the milk is the part of your morning this machine has automated, and the coffee is not. There is no grinder in the box, so whatever you pair it with arrives having never met this machine, and the first week goes on finding the setting where a 19 gram dose runs at a sane speed. When a shot gushes in eleven seconds or drips for fifty, no amount of perfectly textured microfoam touches it, and the first thing every new owner needs to know is which way to turn the grinder.
Shot ran wrong — finer or coarser?
Runs in your browser. Nothing is sent anywhere.
Water is finding channels through the puck faster than it can dissolve the coffee — the shot will taste thin and sour.
Change one thing at a time and change the grind, not the dose — adjusting both at once is how people burn through a bag of beans learning nothing. And start on the single-wall baskets. The pressurised dual-wall ones manufacture crema from anything, including a bad grind, which is comfortable for a week and then leaves you with no idea what your machine is doing.
What it gives up
No grinder, and no dose control. Half a setup, at a price that reads like a whole one. It is the defining fact about both Bambinos.
No screen and nothing to read. The listing summarises the controls as one or two cups, a steam button, and adjustable milk temperature and texture. There is no display and no pressure gauge, so the only feedback a shot gives you is how long it took and how it tastes. That is workable — it is how espresso was made for decades — but the timing habit has to come from you.
No stated tank size. Covered above. It is an absence in the listing, not a small tank, but it does mean you cannot plan around it.
No hot-water button in the settings string. The base Bambino’s listing names one and this one does not. That is a gap in a marketing line rather than proof of a missing function, and we are not going to turn it into a finding — but if you make americanos or tea from the machine, confirm it on the retail page in front of you before you buy.
An unstated portafilter size. The Plus’s listing never publishes a diameter — the Bambino, Barista Express and Barista Touch all state 54 mm in their own text, and this one does not. It is very probably the same 54 mm, but we are not going to print a number the seller declines to. Either way it is not the 58 mm commercial standard, so if standard fittings matter to you this is the wrong machine and the Gaggia E24 is the only one here under two thousand dollars that has them.
Who should buy something else
If you drink your coffee black. You are paying the whole premium for a milk system you will use twice a year, and every part of this machine that touches the espresso is shared with the cheaper one. Buy the base Bambino and put the difference toward the grinder.
If you want automatic milk and a grinder in one body. That machine exists and it is the Barista Touch — one plug, one thing to descale, and no separate grinder to dial in from scratch. It is the closest match to this machine of the several that combine automatic milk with a built-in grinder, and it states its 54 mm portafilter where this listing does not. The Ninja Luxe Café does the same job in a different shape. Either is a bigger box than this one, which is the trade you are making.
If you want one box and will steam milk yourself. The Barista Express has the grinder built in, holds 4.4★ across 27,821 reviews — by far the longest track record anything here can offer. The full head-to-head with the small machines is in Bambino vs Barista Express.
If a machine failing at month fourteen would be a disaster rather than an irritation, weigh this corpus honestly before you commit. The two-year warranty is real cover and it is the best answer available here, but it is cover for a machine whose owners write about failure more than they write about almost anything else except the machine working.
And if you make two flat whites every morning, do not want to learn to steam milk, and already own a grinder, stop reading. This is the machine, the warranty is the longest of the small Brevilles, and the thing everyone complains about is covered for two years.
Where this leaves you
Worth buying if the automatic milk is the reason, and only then
- Two-year limited warranty against the base Bambino's one — on 95 durability mentions of which only 14 are positive, that is the most useful thing the extra money buys.
- 20% negative on what the machine does; 58% on whether it keeps doing it. The coffee is not what buyers argue about.
- Still no grinder: a working setup is $689.90 on snapshot prices, not $489.95.
- The listing contradicts its own width and publishes no usable tank size. Measure the gap on your counter before you commit to it.
Price, rating and review topics are Amazon's, read 28 August 2026, and change without notice. We do not test machines and do not claim to. This page earns a commission if you buy through it.
Snapshot figures on this page: $489.95, 4.1★ across 2,411 Amazon reviews. How this page was put together, and what our method can and cannot prove, is set out in our editorial policy.