Home Espresso GuideWhich machine, and why.

Comparison · updated 28 August 2026

Barista Pro vs Barista Touch

$138.04 separates these two machines and one thing changes: the Barista Touch textures milk for you. The more expensive machine also rates lower — 4.2 stars across 3,895 Amazon reviews against the Barista Pro’s 4.4 across 3,413. Same grinder, same 1680 W, same two-year warranty. If you steam milk most mornings and would rather not learn to, the Touch is aimed at you. Everyone else should buy the Pro.

That is the decision. The rest of this page is the evidence, including the part where the 0.2-star gap turns out to be about something other than coffee.

The one field that separates them, and how thin it is

Amazon files a structured “operation mode” on both listings, and this is one of the rare pairs where both halves are populated and they disagree. The Barista Pro’s reads Manual. The Barista Touch’s reads Fully Automatic. Same brand, same field, adjacent models — that is the cleanest evidence either listing offers that the milk system is the difference.

It is also weaker than it sounds, and you should know why before you spend $138.04 on it. “Fully Automatic” is a category label, not a description of a steam wand, and Amazon puts the identical string on machines with nothing in common: the De’Longhi Magnifica Start carries it and has no portafilter at all. One field, entirely different mornings.

The Bambino Plus, by contrast, headlines “Automatic Milk Steam Wand” in plain words on its own listing. The Barista Touch does not. Its entire product description is one sentence — the model name, the model number and the colour — and its single feature bullet lists what is in the box. Nowhere on the page does it say in English that the machine textures milk for you. If automatic milk is the whole reason you are paying the difference, confirm it on the product page in front of you rather than on our say-so. We are reading a structured field, and we are telling you exactly how much weight it will bear.

The Pro’s listing has the opposite problem, which is to say no problem. Its description is a full paragraph that names things: an integrated conical burr grinder with dose control, a ThermoJet heating system, digital temperature control, an LCD interface, and a “built-in manual microfoam steam wand”. The cheaper machine tells you far more about itself than the expensive one does.

SpecBreville Barista Pro (BES878)Breville Barista Touch (BES880)
Price (snapshot)$849.95$987.99
Operation mode, per the listingManualFully Automatic
Interface, per the listingButtons and an LCDTouchscreen
MilkManual steam wandAutomatic steam wandListing operation mode is “Fully Automatic”
Heating, per the listingThermoJet, with PID temperature controlListing names none
Portafilter, per the listingDiameter not published54 mm, stated in the accessory list
Built-in grinderYesYes
Power1680 W1680 W
Width × depth × height14 × 13 × 16 in15.5 × 12.7 × 16 in
Weight19.5 lb21.8 lb
Water tankNot statedNot stated
Amazon rating4.4★ (3,413)4.2★ (3,895)
Read from each Amazon listing, 29 August 2026, with prices from our 28 August 2026 snapshot. "Listing names none" and "Diameter not published" are findings about the listing, not gaps in our research. Neither listing states a usable water-tank size: the capacity field reads "2 liters" on the Pro and "4.2 pounds" on the Touch, and a field that returns a weight for one machine is not a field we will quote as a volume for the other.

Two rows there are worth reading slowly. The first is heating. The Pro names ThermoJet and the Touch names nothing at all — not in the bullet, not in the description, not in the spec block. How a machine gets water hot decides whether you wait twenty seconds or twenty minutes, and it is the most consequential thing a listing at this price can leave out. We will not fill it in from what a BES880 is generally understood to have; half-remembered facts about model revisions are exactly how a spec sheet goes wrong.

The second is the portafilter. The Touch’s accessory line states a 54 mm stainless portafilter outright; the Pro’s listing does not publish a diameter anywhere. Our own data file records 54 mm for both and only one of those numbers has a listing behind it, so the table says so. Either way, 54 mm is not the 58 mm commercial standard most aftermarket baskets are built for — a constraint you accept with both machines, not a reason to pick between them.

Everything else really is shared. Both draw 1680 W. Both grind, dose and prompt you through the same adjustment. Both include the Razor dose-trimming tool, a 16 oz stainless jug, single and dual-wall baskets, a water filter and a cleaning kit. Both state a two-year warranty and a 30-day refund window. The Touch is 1.5 inches wider and 2.3 pounds heavier — measure before you assume the touchscreen is free.

The same upgrade, priced twice, and the number nobody computes

Breville sells this exact decision twice. Bambino to Bambino Plus buys the same thing — a wand you steer yourself replaced by one that stops at a temperature and foam level you set in advance — and everything else stays put there too. Two prices, one feature, and they are nothing like each other.

Pro → Touch$138.04Bambino → Plus$190.00
Circle area is proportional to what automatic milk costs on each pair, from the 28 August 2026 snapshot. The larger circle is the upgrade on the cheaper machines: automatic milk costs $190.00 on a $299.95 Bambino and $138.04 on a $849.95 Barista Pro. Absolute money and share of the machine point the same way here, which is unusual.

As a share of what you are already spending the gap is wider still. Automatic milk is 63% on top of a Bambino and 16% on top of a Barista Pro — 3.9 times the proportional bite, lower down the range. That is the opposite of how upgrades usually work, and it is the most useful thing on this page, because it reframes the question. Nobody buying at this level is deciding whether to spend $987.99 rather than nothing. They are deciding whether to add 16% to a machine they have already talked themselves into.

Read it the other way and the same fact is a warning about the cheaper pair: in front of the Bambinos, automatic milk is nearly two-thirds again on top of the machine, which is a far harder purchase to justify. We argue that case separately in Bambino vs Bambino Plus, and the reasoning transfers exactly — only the arithmetic changes.

Per drink it stops sounding like much at all, which cuts both ways. The panel below does that arithmetic on your habits rather than an assumed morning. It deliberately does not decide for you on the strength of the money — it tells you how often you would actually use the thing you are buying.

What automatic milk costs you, per milk drink

Runs in your browser. Nothing is sent anywhere.

Milk drinks a week
wk
Lattes, flat whites, cappuccinos — anything steamed
Black drinks a week
wk
Straight espresso, americanos — no steamed milk
Learning to steam milk yourself
The honest question underneath the price. Neither answer is wrong.

Two years is the repair-warranty term both listings in this pair state, and it is used here only as a horizon for the arithmetic — not as a claim about how long either machine lasts. Price steps are a dated snapshot and will have moved.

Milk drinks in 2 years728At the rate you entered
Pro → Touch19¢per drink50% of your coffee has milk in it
Bambino → Plus26¢per drinkSame upgrade, different machine
Milk is a real part of your week without dominating it. At this frequency the automation is a convenience, not a rescue, and the manual wand is a skill you would use often enough to actually acquire. Most people in this band are better served by the cheaper machine and a month of practice.

One honest caveat on that panel. A manual steam wand is not the wall it gets described as — it is a few weeks of learning, and plenty of people end up preferring it. The split is not skilled against unskilled. It is whether you want to be present while milk textures, most mornings, for years. Some people find that the nicest ninety seconds of the day. Others are getting two children out of the door.

Breville Barista Touch (BES880)
If milk is most of your coffee

Breville Barista Touch (BES880)

Sets a milk temperature and texture level and stops on its own, with on-screen prompts through the grind and the shot. The same grinder and the same 1680 W as the Pro.

View on Amazon

$987.99 · 3,895 reviews

The more expensive machine rates lower. Here is where it loses.

4.4 against 4.2 is a small gap, and we are showing it on an honest axis rather than a truncated bar that would make 0.2 of a star look like a chasm. But both corpora run to thousands of reviews, so it is not a small-sample wobble either.

Amazon rating, out of 5
Barista Pro
4.4
Barista Touch
4.2
345

Amazon's ratings, not ours: 3,413 reviews for the Pro and 3,895 for the Touch, read 28 August 2026. The axis is not truncated — the gap really is this size.

Amazon groups reviews into topics and publishes a positive and negative count for each. Six topics appear on both listings. The corpora are different sizes, so raw mention counts are not comparable; positive share is.

SpecBreville Barista Pro (BES878)Breville Barista Touch (BES880)
Performance83% positive (325 of 392)85% positive (482 of 569)
Ease of use74% positive (126 of 171)87% positive (199 of 229)
Coffee quality89% positive (131 of 148)82% positive (176 of 215)
Reliability49% positive (102 of 207)44% positive (132 of 297)
Value for money68% positive (115 of 170)62% positive (176 of 282)
Durability26% positive (22 of 85)21% positive (24 of 113)
Amazon's review-topic aggregation on each listing, read 29 August 2026, restricted to the six topics that appear on both. Percentages are positive mentions as a share of positive plus negative — computed that way deliberately, because Amazon's own total field abbreviates anything over 1,000 and reports 1,047 as 1. The Pro's listing also carries Taste and Brew time; the Touch's also carries Ease of cleaning and Enjoyment. Amazon generates these groupings, so an absent topic is not evidence nobody raised it.

That table answers the question this page opened with, and not the way most buyers expect. The Touch beats the Pro on exactly the thing it was built to do, and loses on whether it keeps doing it. Ease of use runs 87% positive on the Touch against 74% on the Pro — 13 points, the largest gap in either direction on any shared topic. The touchscreen and the automatic wand work. Owners say so, in volume.

Then reliability runs 49% positive on the Pro and 44% on the Touch, and durability 26% against 21%. Neither is a good number — the Pro’s reliability topic is a coin flip. But the Touch is worse on both, and it has a touchscreen, a milk sensor, a grinder and a pump in one body where the Pro has one fewer system to fail. More automation is more surface area, and the corpora appear to be counting exactly that.

So the 0.2-star gap is not a verdict on the espresso. Coffee quality runs 89% and 82% positive — high on both, as you would expect from two machines sharing a grinder and an extraction path. What you are pricing when you read 4.2 stars is not worse coffee. It is a repair.

What buyers report — Breville Barista Pro (BES878)patterns across 3,413 Amazon reviews · 4.4★ · read 28 August 2026
  • Praised: Performance is the largest topic on the listing: 392 mentions, 83% of them positive. — what comes out of the cup is not what buyers argue about
  • Praised: Coffee quality is the cleanest split in either corpus — 148 mentions, 89% positive.
  • Praised: Brew time appears as a topic here and not on the Touch — 71 mentions, 70% positive — and Amazon's summary of it singles out fast steaming after a shot. — the ThermoJet system the listing names is the thing owners notice daily
  • Mixed: Ease of use draws 171 mentions and is 74% positive — the weakest of the Pro's five praised topics. — the manual wand and the button interface are a learning curve, and some owners say so
  • Mixed: Reliability is effectively a coin flip: 102 positive against 105 negative.
  • Complaint: Durability is the corpus's clear problem — 85 mentions, only 26% positive, with failures inside the first months the recurring report. — the higher-rated machine in this pair has the same weak point as the lower-rated one

Topic names and sentiment splits are Amazon's own review-topic aggregation on each listing, read 29 August 2026, summarised rather than quoted. Every total here is the positive and negative counts added together rather than Amazon's own mentions figure, which abbreviates any total of 1,000 or more and would silently report 1,047 as 1. Both listings happen to sit under that threshold on all eight topics and the reconstructed totals matched — the check costs nothing, so we run it everywhere. Amazon generates these groupings, so a topic missing from one listing is not evidence nobody raised it. We have not tested either machine.

What buyers report — Breville Barista Touch (BES880)patterns across 3,895 Amazon reviews · 4.2★ · read 28 August 2026
  • Praised: Performance is much the largest topic on either listing: 569 mentions, 85% positive.
  • Praised: Ease of use is 87% positive across 229 mentions, with the on-screen prompts named as the reason. — 13 points clear of the Pro on the same topic — the automation is doing the job it was added to do
  • Mixed: Ease of cleaning appears here and not on the Pro — 94 mentions, 71% positive — covering both the self-cleaning wand and the cycles the machine prompts. — automation adds a chore as well as removing one
  • Mixed: Value for money is genuinely contested across 282 mentions, 62% positive against the Pro's 68%.
  • Complaint: Reliability is the only large topic on either listing where the negatives win outright: 165 negative against 132 positive. — 5 points worse than the Pro on the same topic
  • Complaint: Durability draws 113 mentions and is 21% positive, describing failure months after purchase rather than on arrival. — a months-in failure pattern is what a warranty covers and a return window does not

Topic names and sentiment splits are Amazon's own review-topic aggregation on each listing, read 29 August 2026, summarised rather than quoted. Every total here is the positive and negative counts added together rather than Amazon's own mentions figure, which abbreviates any total of 1,000 or more and would silently report 1,047 as 1. Both listings happen to sit under that threshold on all eight topics and the reconstructed totals matched — the check costs nothing, so we run it everywhere. Amazon generates these groupings, so a topic missing from one listing is not evidence nobody raised it. We have not tested either machine.

Both blocks carry the same warning underneath the detail. These are counts of mentions, not units sold or units failed. A machine that dies is a much stronger reason to write a review than a machine that works, so a durability topic that is three-quarters negative is a signal about what owners choose to write about, not a failure rate.

One consequence is concrete, though. The failures both corpora describe cluster months after purchase, not on arrival. A 30-day refund window does nothing for that pattern; the two-year repair warranty both listings state is the thing that does. Buy where a claim is easy to make rather than from whoever is fifteen dollars cheaper.

What each one gives up

The Pro gives up the milk decision being made for you. You steam, you listen, you feel the side of the jug and you stop it yourself, and for a few weeks you will do it badly. If someone else in the house will use the machine and should not have to practise, that is a real argument for the Touch that has nothing to do with your own skill.

The Touch gives up milk you chose in the moment. An automatic wand textures to a preset and stops — which also means the foam is the same every time whether or not the same is what today needed, and latte art is harder with a wand you are not steering.

The Touch gives up counter space and a spec sheet. An inch and a half of width, two and a bit pounds, and a listing that will not tell you how the machine heats water — a question the Pro’s page answers in its second sentence.

Both give up the separate grinder. A built-in grinder dies with the machine it lives in; a standalone one outlives it. If that trade bothers you, neither of these is your machine, and the argument is laid out in Bambino vs Barista Express.

Who should buy neither

If you want the same machine for less. The Barista Express is the older, dial-driven sibling of the Pro and still outsells both of these by a distance — Barista Express vs Barista Pro works out what the newer machine actually adds and whether it is worth the step.

If you never wanted to hold a portafilter. Then the Touch is an expensive way to keep a job you did not want. A bean-to-cup super-automatic grinds, doses, tamps internally and pours from a button, for less than either machine here. De’Longhi vs Breville is the page that argues it properly.

If tamping is the part you want gone. That is the Oracle Touch — but look at what its reviews average first, because it is the lowest-rated machine on this entire site. Barista Touch vs Oracle Touch puts the two side by side.

For each machine on its own terms, the Barista Pro review and the Barista Touch review go further than a head-to-head can.

So which one

Two questions settle it faster than any spec sheet, and neither is about money. In a normal week, how many of your drinks contain steamed milk? And would you enjoy learning to steam it, or is it a chore you want gone before it starts? Neither answer is wrong. They point in opposite directions, and because everything else about these two machines is shared, they are the only answers that matter.

If you are undecided after all that, buy the Pro. It is the cheaper machine, it is the better-rated machine, it has one fewer system to fail, and its listing will actually tell you how it heats water. Milk texturing is a skill you can learn on it for nothing, and it is the only thing the upgrade sells.

Where this leaves you

For most people asking this question, the Barista Pro is the answer

  • $138.04 cheaper and rated 4.4★ against 4.2★ — the more expensive machine is the lower-rated one
  • Same integrated burr grinder, same 1680 W, same Razor dose tool and 16 oz jug, same two-year warranty
  • Its listing names ThermoJet heating and PID temperature control; the Touch's listing names no heating system at all
  • Wrong machine if milk is most of your coffee and you would rather not learn the wand — that is what the $138.04 buys

Prices are a snapshot taken 28 August 2026 and will have changed. Ratings and review topics are Amazon's, not ours; we have not tested either machine and make no claim to have. This page earns a commission if you buy through it.

Breville Barista Pro (BES878)
Breville

Barista Pro (BES878)

$849.95

View on Amazon

300+ bought last month

Snapshot figures: Barista Pro $849.95, 4.4★ across 3,413 reviews; Barista Touch $987.99, 4.2★ across 3,895 reviews. Read 28 August 2026; listing text and review topics re-read 29 August 2026. Our method is set out in the editorial policy.