Home Espresso GuideWhich machine, and why.

Machine review · updated 28 August 2026

Breville Barista Express review

Buy the Barista Express if you want one box that grinds, doses, tamps and pulls, and you are willing to learn a dial instead of reading a screen. Skip it if you already own a grinder you like, or if waiting for a machine to heat up is the part of the morning you cannot stand. It is the oldest design here. It is also, on Amazon’s own ranking, still the number 2 best-selling machine in its category — ahead of the two Breville built to replace it. This page is about why that is, and where it stops being true.

Nothing has displaced it, and three separate numbers say so

Reviews of this machine tend to argue about whether it is good. That question was settled a decade ago by people spending their own money. The more useful question is why a thirteen-year-old design is still winning, when Breville itself sells two newer machines in the same shape at higher prices.

Read 29 August 2026, the Barista Express listing carries a Best Sellers Rank of number 2 in Semi-Automatic Espresso Machines. The Barista Pro — the same machine with faster heating and a button panel — sat at number 34 in that same category on the same day. Amazon’s bought-in-the-past-month badge tells the same story: 1,000+ for the Express against 300+ for the Pro and 500+ for the Barista Touch.

Then there is the review corpus, which measures something different again — not this month’s sales but thirteen years of them. 27,821 reviews is 2.2 times the total of every other Breville espresso machine we cover put together, and 42% of every review across all thirteen products on this site.

Barista Express27,821Other Brevilles12,914Barista Pro3,413
Circle area is proportional to Amazon review count, snapshot 28 August 2026. "Other Brevilles" is the Bambino, Bambino Plus, Barista Pro, Barista Touch and Oracle Touch added together. Review counts accumulate over a product's whole life and pool across colour variants, so they measure history rather than current sales — which is exactly why the Best Sellers Rank above is quoted alongside them.

Three signals measuring three different things — this month, this year, and the whole run — and all three point the same way. That is a stronger claim than any one of them alone, and it is the thing worth explaining.

Worked example

What the replacements ask, and what they change

Every machine Breville sells above the Barista Express in the same portafilter shape, with the price step and the single thing it buys. Snapshot prices from 28 August 2026; ranks read 29 August 2026.

  1. 1Breville Barista Express — the baselineNot stated by the listing heating, dial controls, 1 year limited product warranty.$699.95
  2. 2Barista Pro — ThermoJet heating, buttons, second warranty yearThe listing's own warranty field reads "2 Year Limited Product Warranty" against the Express's "1 Year Limited Product Warranty".+$150.00
  3. 3Barista Touch — touchscreen and automatic milk texturing4.2★ across 3,895 reviews.+$288.04
  4. 4Oracle Touch — automatic grinding and tamping3.4★ across 597 reviews — the lowest rating of any machine on this site.+$1601.00
  5. 5Amazon rank, Barista ExpressIn Semi-Automatic Espresso Machines, read 29 August 2026.#2
  6. 6Amazon rank, Barista ProSame category, same day.#34

The upgrade path has been sitting there for years and buyers keep taking the bottom rung. That is not proof the Express is the better machine. It is evidence that what the successors sell — a machine hot in seconds, a screen to read, milk textured for you — is not what most people are choosing on when they are spending $699.95 on their first real espresso machine.

One line above is a genuine functional gain rather than a convenience, and it is the one nobody markets: the Pro’s warranty runs two years where the Express’s runs one. Given what the durability topic looks like further down this page, that is the honest reason to spend the extra $150.00, and it has nothing to do with heat-up time.

The grinder is the whole argument

The Express grinds beans directly into the portafilter. That one sentence is the reason this machine has outlived its replacements, because it removes the step where most home setups fall apart: you never put the basket down between grinding and tamping, never weigh into a cup and tip it across, never lose a gram to the counter.

Its listing spells out what comes in the box: a Razor dose trimming tool, a 54 mm stainless portafilter, single-wall and dual-wall baskets in one-cup and two-cup sizes, a scoop, an integrated tamper, a milk jug, a cleaning disc and tablets, a brush, an Allen key, and a water filter with its holder. The capacity bullet adds a half-pound bean hopper, a 67 oz tank, 1600 watts, and the one-year warranty.

The integrated tamper and the Razor are the parts most reviews skip and the parts that make it a one-box machine. The tamper lives in the machine, so tamping happens where the grinding happened. The Razor trims the puck to a repeatable height, which is Breville solving a dosing problem without asking you to buy a scale. Neither is glamorous. Both are why a beginner gets a drinkable shot on the first morning.

There is an honest gap here. The listing advertises “Adjustable Grind Amount and Manual Override” and dose-control grinding, but it publishes no number of grind settings anywhere in its spec fields. If the step count of the burrs is what you are choosing on, this listing will not tell you, and we are not going to fill that in from memory.

The comparison that makes the value concrete is against a machine with no grinder at all. A Bambino costs $299.95 and needs a grinder you buy separately, which changes the arithmetic more than most people expect — we run that sum in full here.

Breville Barista Express (BES870XL)
The one-box option

Breville Barista Express (BES870XL)

Conical burr grinder, integrated tamper and the Razor dose tool in one body, so grinding, dosing and tamping happen without the portafilter leaving your hand.

View on Amazon

$699.95 · 27,821 reviews

Where it sits on the spec sheet

SpecBreville Barista Express (BES870XL)Breville Barista Pro (BES878)Breville Bambino (BES450)
Price (snapshot)$699.95$849.95$299.95
HeatingNot stated by the listingThermoJetThermoJet
Portafilter54 mmNot stated54 mm
Built-in grinderYesYesNo
MilkManual steam wandSteam wand — listing's spec field says “Manual”Manual steam wandAutomatic steam wandSteam wand — listing's spec field says “Manual”, its own bullets say automatic
Power1600 W1680 W1560 W
Water tank67 ozNot statedNot stated
Advertised pressureNot statedNot statedNot stated
Amazon rating4.4★ (27,821)4.4★ (3,413)4.0★ (2,598)
Snapshot 28 August 2026. "Not stated" means the listing publishes no usable figure. Tank sizes come from the features text, never from the listings' Capacity field — the Barista Express's reads "1 cups" and the Barista Pro's reads "2 liters" for what is very nearly the same tank.

Four rows are worth reading properly. The portafilter is 54 mm, which is Breville’s size across this whole range rather than the 58 mm commercial standard. Baskets and tampers are easy to find; a barista’s spare kit will not fit. If commercial-standard fittings matter to you, the Gaggia E24 is the only machine here under $2,000 that has them.

Advertised pressure reads “Not stated” for all three, and that is to Breville’s credit. Machines a fifth of this price advertise 20 bar, which describes a pump’s maximum rather than anything that reaches the coffee. Espresso extracts at around 9. A brand declining to print a big number is telling you something.

The milk row separates the Express from the Bambino — and the Bambino column needs a caveat, because that listing contradicts itself. Its structured spec field says the wand is manual while its own marketing bullets describe an automatic one, and our data records the automatic reading. The Express has no such ambiguity: its spec field says manual, its description says manual microfoam texturing, and it is a manual wand. You steam the milk.

Heating is the row the whole upgrade argument rests on, and it gets its own section next.

Heating, and the thing buyers turn out not to mind

The Barista Pro’s headline difference is ThermoJet heating, which its listing states outright. The Express’s listing names no heating system at all— not in its bullets, its description or its spec table. That is worth noticing, because the heating system is the specification most often used to justify buying the newer machine, and Breville does not put it in front of you here. Its description claims beans to espresso in under a minute and makes no seconds-level warm-up claim. We have not timed either machine and are not going to pretend otherwise.

What we can do is look at what owners bring up unprompted. Amazon’s topic aggregation for the Barista Pro surfaces a brew-time topic — 71 mentions, 70% positive. The Barista Express’s aggregation, across a corpus roughly eight times larger, names eight topics and not one of them is speed, heat-up or brew time.

Read that carefully, because it is weak evidence and we are not going to inflate it. Those topic sets are generated by Amazon, capped in number, and not comparable across corpora of wildly different sizes — a topic can be missing because it is the ninth most discussed rather than because nobody discussed it. But it is the evidence that exists, and it points one way: the people who bought the fast machine talk about the speed, and the people who bought the slow one talk about the coffee.

The practical version. Heat-up is a once-a-morning cost, not a per-shot one. If you make one drink and leave the house, it is the difference between waiting and not waiting. If you make three, the machine is hot after the first and the spec stops existing. Which of those you are depends on your household, not on the machine, and it is the question the spec sheet cannot answer for you.

4.4 stars over 27,821 reviews

This is the largest review corpus on this site by a wide margin, which makes it the one place where the star average is genuinely worth interrogating rather than glancing at. Below is how Amazon’s own topic aggregation splits it.

What buyers report — Breville Barista Express (BES870XL)patterns across 27,821 Amazon reviews · 4.4★ · read 28 August 2026
  • Praised: Performance is by far the largest cluster: 3,867 mentions, 87% of them positive. — on whether it makes good coffee, the corpus is not close
  • Praised: Coffee quality runs 1,666 mentions at 94% positive — the highest positive share of any topic on the listing.
  • Praised: Ease of use draws 1,401 mentions, 79% positive, with 295 negative — the largest negative count outside durability. — a machine with this many controls does not land easily for everyone
  • Praised: Ease of cleaning draws 535 mentions at 75% positive, and Amazon's own summary of them singles out the machine telling owners when it needs cleaning.
  • Complaint: Durability is the only topic where negatives outnumber positives: 861 mentions, 57% negative. — this is the whole of the case against the machine, and it is a real one
  • Mixed: The "would buy it again" cluster runs 839 mentions at 74% positive — the weakest of the positive topics.
  • Mixed: None of the eight topics Amazon's aggregation names for this listing is the grinder, the steam wand or heat-up speed. — the specs the marketing leads on are not the ones the corpus organises itself around

Counts are Amazon's own review-topic aggregation on this listing, read 29 August 2026 — its positive and negative mention counts per topic, added. They are not quoted from individual reviews, not collected by us, and not from testing, which this site does not do.

The shape is unambiguous. On what the machine does, the corpus is overwhelmingly positive and stays positive across thousands of mentions. On whether it keeps doing it, 57% of 861 durability mentions are negative, and Amazon’s own summary of them describes owners split between machines lasting for years and machines failing after about three.

Paying more does not obviously fix this. The Barista Pro’s durability topic runs 74% negative across a much smaller 85 mentions, and its reliability topic is a dead heat at 102 positive against 105 negative. Two corpora that different in size are not cleanly comparable, and neither is flattering.

What the extra $150.00 does buy is stated plainly in the listings: the Pro’s warranty field reads 2 year limited product warranty, the Express’s reads 1 year limited product warranty. Against a failure pattern this size, a second year is worth more than a faster heater. The Express listing also states free 30-day refund/replacement, which is the window in which a dead-on-arrival machine is somebody else’s problem rather than yours.

Week one, and the dial you will reach for

This tool is here because the Express gives you exactly one control that fixes a bad shot, and it is the grind dial. The grinder and the group arrived matched, so most owners get something drinkable on day one and then spend a month wondering whether to touch anything. When a shot does run wrong — gushing in eight seconds, or refusing to move for forty — the question is always the same one, and the answer is always a direction rather than a number.

Shot ran wrong — finer or coarser?

Runs in your browser. Nothing is sent anywhere.

Basket
Single and double baskets have different windows
Shot time
s
From first drip to stopping the pump

Water is finding channels through the puck faster than it can dissolve the coffee — the shot will taste thin and sour.

Change one thing at a time, and only the grind. Adjusting grind and dose together is why so many people spend a bag of beans going in circles — two variables moved at once cannot be attributed to either.
This gives you a direction, not an amount. Step size differs so much between grinders that “go three steps finer” is meaningless advice. Move a little, pull again, and expect to throw away two or three shots after switching beans.
Do this nextGrind FINER
Target window25–32secdouble basket

One habit matters more here than on any other machine in this range: use the single-wall baskets from the start. The dual-wall ones in the box meter the coffee through a restriction and will manufacture crema out of a grind that is badly wrong, which hides from you the one signal this machine is built to give you.

The number that cuts the other way

Everything above says this machine is holding its ground. One measure says the opposite, and leaving it out would be dishonest. Searches for this model by name are down roughly 55% year on year in keyword-volume data. Fewer people are looking it up than a year ago, while its Amazon rank and its bought-past-month badge have not moved to match.

Be careful about what that does and does not mean. It is not a discontinuation signal: the listing is live, in stock, carrying a current warranty and a 1,000+ monthly badge. Parts, baskets and the consumables are all current. What a falling curve on a thirteen-year-old model usually means is that the conversation has moved on before the sales have — the reviews, the videos and the forum threads about it were written years ago, and the new ones are being written about other machines.

For most buyers that is irrelevant. If you want a machine that works, a fading search curve costs you nothing. If you want to buy the design line a manufacturer is actively developing, with the newer accessories and the newer content around it, that is the Pro and the Touch, and it is a legitimate reason to spend more that has nothing to do with the spec sheet.

What it gives up

Not stated by the listing heating. Slower to temperature than the ThermoJet machines above it. Discussed at length two sections up; it matters less than the price difference implies, and it does matter to somebody who makes one drink and leaves.

A dial, not a display. The listing’s own Human Interface Input field reads “Dial”; the Barista Pro’s reads “Buttons”. You get physical controls rather than a menu. Whether that is a loss depends entirely on whether you would rather learn a machine or be walked through one.

One year of warranty where the machine directly above it gives two, on a product whose only real complaint cluster is things breaking.

Manual milk. You texture it yourself, every time. That is a skill worth having and a chore on a weekday morning. The machine that removes it entirely is the Barista Touch, at $288.04 more.

54 mm fittings, not the 58 mm commercial standard.

Who should buy something else

If you already own a grinder you like. You are paying for the single most expensive component in this machine twice, and a Bambino plus the grinder on your counter will make the same coffee in less space. The full arithmetic is in Bambino vs Barista Express.

If you want the machine hot immediately, or you want the second warranty year. Both are the Barista Pro, and the second reason is much better than the first — Barista Express vs Barista Pro lays out what actually changed between them and what stayed identical.

If you want one machine for espresso, drip and cold brew. The Express does one thing. Whether a machine that does three does any of them well is the question in Ninja Luxe Café vs Barista Express.

If you are not sure you want a hobby. This machine assumes you will learn a grind dial and steam milk by hand, and it will be a disappointment to anyone who wanted a good flat white without either. For that buyer the honest answer is a bean-to-cup machine, which is a different hobby rather than a cheaper version of this one — De’Longhi vs Breville is that argument in full. If you read that sentence and thought the learning was the appeal, you are precisely who the Barista Express was built for, and it is why the thing has outlived two attempts to replace it.

Where this leaves you

Still the default answer, and the ranking has not moved

  • Number 2 in Semi-Automatic Espresso Machines on Amazon, read 29 August 2026, against number 34 for the Barista Pro built to replace it.
  • Conical burr grinder, integrated tamper and Razor dose tool in one body — grinding, dosing and tamping without the portafilter leaving your hand.
  • 4.4★ across 27,821 Amazon reviews, 42% of every review on this site. Durability is the one topic that runs negative, at 57%.
  • 1 Year Limited Product Warranty and free 30-day refund/replacement per the listing — buy where returns are straightforward rather than from whoever is cheapest.

Price and rating are Amazon's, read 28 August 2026, and change without notice. Best Sellers Rank read 29 August 2026 and moves daily. We do not test machines and do not claim to.

Breville Barista Express (BES870XL)
Breville

Barista Express (BES870XL)

$699.95

View on Amazon

1,000+ bought last month

How this page was put together, and what our method can and cannot prove, is set out in our editorial policy.