Machine review · updated 28 August 2026
Breville Barista Pro review
Buy the Barista Pro if you want the Barista Express’s one-box grinding and brewing with twice the warranty behind it, and you would rather read a display than learn a dial. Do not buy it for the heating system, which is what it is sold on. This is the machine Breville built to replace the Express, and it is losing to it: number 34 against number 2 in the same Amazon category on the same day, at $150.00 more. That is the awkward fact this page is organised around.
The replacement is losing to the machine it replaced
Read 29 August 2026, the Barista Pro carries a Best Sellers Rank of number 34 in Semi-Automatic Espresso Machines and number 81,909 in Home & Kitchen overall. The Barista Express, a older design in the same category, sat at number 2 and number 7,949 on the same day. A single rank is noise. A gap of thirty-two places in the sub-category and seventy-four thousand overall is not.
Amazon’s bought-in-the-past-month badge says the same thing in a different unit: 300+ for the Pro against 1,000+ for the Express, or about 30% as many. The Barista Touch sits between them at 500+, which is the part that should give a buyer pause. The Pro is not merely being outsold by the cheaper machine below it. It is being outsold by the more expensive machine above it too.
The review corpus measures something else again, and it is the least flattering of the three. The Express has accumulated 27,821 Amazon reviews to the Pro’s 3,413, roughly 8 times as many. Some of that is simply age: reviews pile up over a product’s whole life and are counted across every colour variant, so an older listing starts with an advantage it never gives back. But the monthly badge and the sales rank are both current-month measures, and they agree with it.
One number cuts the other way, and it is worth stating rather than hiding. The Pro listing carries an Amazon's Choice badge; the Express listing, which sits second in the same category, carries none. That is an Amazon merchandising decision rather than a quality judgement, and we have no visibility into how it is made. It does mean the Pro will be the machine put in front of a lot of people who never see the ranking at all.
What the $150.00 actually buys
Four things separate these machines on their listings, and only one of them is a guarantee rather than a convenience.
Worked example
The step from Express to Pro, line by line
Everything the two listings state differently, with the price step attached. Snapshot prices from 28 August 2026; ranks, warranty strings and spec fields read 29 August 2026.
- 1Breville Barista Express — the baselineBuilt-in conical burr grinder, 54 mm portafilter, manual steam wand, 1 year limited product warranty.$699.95
- 2ThermoJet heating — named on this listing onlyThe Express's listing names no heating system anywhere. PID is NOT part of the difference: both descriptions name digital temperature control, so only the heating system separates them.stated
- 3An LCD display instead of a dialEach listing's own Human Interface Input field. The Pro's description adds grinding and extraction progress animations.Buttons vs Dial
- 4A second year of warrantyThe warranty fields read "2 Year Limited Product Warranty" and "1 Year Limited Product Warranty".2 yr vs 1 yr
- 5The price stepAgainst $138.04 more again for the Barista Touch above it.+$150.00
- 6Amazon rank, Pro against ExpressSame category, same day, read 29 August 2026.#34 vs #2
Three of those four are conveniences and one is cover. Faster heating, a screen and progress animations all change how the machine feels to use. They do not change what happens when the steam wand stops working in month fourteen. The second warranty year does, and it is the only line on that list that pays out.
It is also the line nobody markets. Breville leads on ThermoJet. The reason to actually spend the $150.00 is sitting in a structured spec field most buyers never scroll to.
Why the second year is worth more than the faster heater
Durability is the worst-performing review topic in this whole category, and it is not close. On the Barista Express it is the only topic where negatives outnumber positives: 861 mentions, 57% negative. On the Barista Touch it runs 79% negative across 113. On this machine it is 74% negative across 85, and Amazon’s own summary of that topic describes units failing within three months.
So the newer machine is not demonstrably better built. Nothing in the data says it is. Its durability share is worse than the Express’s on a corpus a tenth the size, and its reliability topic is a dead heat at 102 positive against 105 negative. Two corpora that different in size are not cleanly comparable in either direction, so the honest reading is not “the Pro breaks more”. It is that there is no evidence of improvement, on a spec where you would want some.
That is exactly why the warranty matters. You are not buying a machine that fails less often. You are buying twelve additional months in which a failure is somebody else’s bill rather than yours, on a product category that visibly produces failures. Against a complaint pattern this shape, a second year is worth more than a heating system, and it is worth more than a screen.
Read the wording rather than the number, though, because all three listings phrase it differently. The Pro’s field says “2 Year Limited Product Warranty”. The Express’s says “1 Year Limited Product Warranty”. The Barista Touch’s says “2 year repair warranty”, which is a repair warranty rather than a product one and is not obviously the same promise. The Pro also states free 30-day refund/replacement, which is the separate and much shorter window in which a dead-on-arrival machine is a return rather than a claim. What the side-by-side leaves out is covered in Barista Express vs Barista Pro.

Breville Barista Pro (BES878)
Same one-box grinding and brewing as the Barista Express, with a two-year limited product warranty in the listing's own field against the Express's one. On a category whose worst review topic is things breaking, that is the upgrade that pays.
$849.95 · 3,413 reviews
The spec sheet, and a listing that tells you less
| Spec | Breville Barista Pro (BES878) | Breville Barista Express (BES870XL) | Breville Barista Touch (BES880) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price (snapshot) | $849.95 | $699.95 | $987.99 |
| Heating | ThermoJet | Not stated by the listing | Not stated by the listing |
| Portafilter | Not stated | 54 mm | 54 mm |
| Built-in grinder | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Milk | Manual steam wand | Manual steam wandSteam wand — listing's spec field says “Manual” | Automatic steam wandListing operation mode is “Fully Automatic” |
| Power | 1680 W | 1600 W | 1680 W |
| Water tank | Not stated | 67 oz | Not stated |
| Advertised pressure | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Amazon rating | 4.4★ (3,413) | 4.4★ (27,821) | 4.2★ (3,895) |
The strangest thing about this listing is how little of it there is. The Barista Express’s feature text names a 54 mm stainless portafilter, a 67 oz water tank, a half-pound bean hopper, an integrated tamper, low-pressure pre-infusion and its warranty term. The Barista Pro’s entire feature text is one line listing what is in the box: filter baskets, the Razor dose trimming tool, a milk jug, a cleaning kit and a water filter. No tank size, no portafilter diameter, no hopper capacity, no pre-infusion. The newer, more expensive machine publishes less about itself than the thirteen-year-old one does.
Be careful what you conclude from that. A listing not mentioning pre-infusion or an integrated tamper is a fact about the listing, not about the hardware, and we are not going to tell you the Pro lacks either on that basis. What it does mean is that if one of those is what you are choosing on, the product page will not settle it for you and neither will we.
The heating row is the one that carries the argument, and here the Pro is the machine with the honest answer: its description names ThermoJet outright. Be careful with what that does and does not include — PID temperature control is named on the Express’s listing too, in near-identical wording, so it is not something the extra money buys. The Express’s and the Touch’s heating rows both read “Not stated” because neither listing names a heating system at all, which on the single most consequential specification of a home espresso machine is remarkable. We are not filling those in from what a BES870 or a BES880 is generally understood to have.
Two other fields separate the three. Operation mode reads “Manual” for the Pro and “Fully Automatic” for the Touch, which is the main structured evidence that the Touch automates the milk and this machine does not. Human interface input reads “Buttons”, “Dial” and “Touchscreen” across the three. That is the whole ladder in one row: buttons, a dial, a screen.
4.4 stars over 3,413 reviews
The Pro and the Express carry the identical star average, 4.4, across corpora 8 times apart in size. The average is therefore the least interesting number on either page. What the topic breakdown underneath it does is separate the parts people are happy with from the parts they are not, and on this machine the split is unusually clean.
- Praised: Performance is the biggest cluster at 392 mentions, 83% of them positive. — on whether it makes good coffee, this corpus is not arguing
- Praised: Coffee quality runs 148 mentions at 89% positive, and taste a further 74 at 81%.
- Praised: Ease of use draws 171 mentions at 74% positive, and Amazon's summary of them singles out the setup and the beginner-facing display.
- Complaint: Durability is 74% negative across 85 mentions, and the summary attached to it describes machines failing within three months. — this is the case against the machine, and it is the same case as against the Express
- Mixed: Reliability is a straight dead heat: 102 positive against 105 negative across 207 mentions. — a coin flip is not a recommendation and it is not a condemnation either
- Mixed: Value for money is contested at 170 mentions, 68% positive — the weakest positive topic here apart from brew time.
- Mixed: Brew time is the smallest of the eight topics at 71 mentions, 70% positive. — the feature the machine is sold on is the one owners bring up least
Counts are Amazon's own review-topic aggregation on this listing, read 29 August 2026 — its positive and negative mention counts per topic, added together, across 1,318 topic mentions in eight topics. We add them rather than reading the listing's own mentions_count field because that field is broken on some Amazon listings: on the Barista Express, the four topics whose true totals run into the thousands report a mentions_count of 3, 1, 1 and 1, while every topic under a thousand reports correctly. On this listing no topic reaches a thousand and all eight agree, which is what makes the failure legible. Nothing here is quoted from an individual review, collected by us, or from testing, which this site does not do.
Read the top and the bottom of that list together. On the coffee itself the corpus is emphatic, and the two topics about what comes out of the cup run 89% and 81% positive. On whether the machine keeps doing it, durability is 74% negative and reliability is a coin flip. Those are not contradictory findings. They describe a machine that does its job well and a meaningful minority of owners who stopped being able to use it.
Heat-up is a once-a-sitting cost, not a per-shot one
The ThermoJet system is what this machine is sold on, so it deserves a straight look rather than a dismissal. Of the eight topics Amazon’s aggregation names here, brew time is the smallest, at 71 mentions and 70% positive. The Barista Express’s aggregation, across a corpus roughly 8 times larger, names eight topics and not one of them is speed or brew time.
That is weak evidence and we are not going to inflate it. Amazon generates these topic sets, caps how many it shows, and they are not comparable across corpora of wildly different sizes: a topic can be absent because it ranked ninth rather than because nobody raised it. Taken at its weakest it still says something. The people who bought the fast machine mention the speed less than they mention the price, the setup or the reliability.
The structural point is simpler and does not need a corpus at all. You pay a warm-up once per sitting, not once per drink. Whether that cost is large depends on how many cups come out of the machine before it goes cold again, which is a fact about your household rather than about the hardware. This is the arithmetic, and it is the only part of the heating argument we can compute honestly.
How often you actually wait for a machine to heat
Runs in your browser. Nothing is sent anywhere, and no machine is timed.
Warm-up is paid per sitting. Everything after the first drink comes off a machine that is already hot, which is why the same heating system can be the deciding feature for one household and invisible to the one next door.
Set it to one drink and the wait is every morning, which is the household the ThermoJet is genuinely for. Set it to three and two thirds of your coffee comes off a machine that is already hot. Neither answer is available from the spec sheet, and neither is worth $150.00 on its own.
What it gives up
Manual milk. The description calls it a manual microfoam steam wand and the operation mode field says “Manual”. You texture the milk yourself, every drink. The machine that removes that step is the Barista Touch, and Barista Pro vs Barista Touch works out what the $138.04 step is buying.
mm fittings, not the 58 mm commercial standard. Every Breville machine on this site uses them except the Oracle Touch. Baskets and tampers are easy enough to find, but a barista’s spare kit will not fit and the aftermarket is smaller.
Counter width. The listing gives 13"D x 14"W x 16"H against the Express’s 13.8"D x 12.5"W x 15.9"H. The machine built to replace it is an inch and a half wider, though lighter at 19.5 pounds against 22.1 pounds. If your machine lives in a gap between cabinets, measure before you upgrade.
A search curve falling faster than the machine it replaced. Interest in this model by name is down about 65% year on year in keyword-volume data, against roughly 55% for the Barista Express. That is not a discontinuation signal: the listing is live, in stock, carrying a current warranty and a 300+ monthly badge. It does mean that the machine positioned as the modern option is the one the conversation is leaving quicker.
Who should buy something else
If the warranty is not what you are buying. Then you are paying $150.00 for a heating system you may barely notice and a display instead of a dial, and the Barista Express does the same grinding, dosing and brewing for less. It is the machine the ranking says most people are still choosing, and they are not obviously wrong.
If milk is the part you dread. This machine will not help you. The Touch textures it for you and the listing calls itself fully automatic, at $138.04 more than this one.
If you already own a grinder. The grinder is the most expensive component in this box and you would be buying a second one. A Bambino at $299.95 plus the grinder already on your counter takes less space and makes the same coffee.
If commercial fittings matter. The Gaggia E24 is the only machine here under $2,000 with a 58 mm portafilter, and the only one advertising 9 bar rather than a bigger, emptier number. It has no grinder, so budget for one.
If you have read all of that and the second warranty year is still the line that matters to you, then the Barista Pro is the right machine and the reason is a good one. Just make sure it is the reason, and not the heating.
Where this leaves you
Buy it for the second year, not for the seconds
- 2 Year Limited Product Warranty in the listing's own field, against 1 Year Limited Product Warranty on the Barista Express — on a category whose single worst review topic is durability.
- 4.4★ across 3,413 Amazon reviews. Coffee quality runs 89% positive; durability runs 74% negative and reliability is a dead heat.
- ThermoJet heating and PID control are named on this listing, where the Barista Express names no heating system at all — but brew time is the smallest of the eight review topics.
- Number 34 in Semi-Automatic Espresso Machines read 29 August 2026, against number 2 for the older machine it was built to replace. FREE 30-day refund/replacement per the listing.
Price, rating and review count are Amazon's, read 28 August 2026, and change without notice. Best Sellers Rank read 29 August 2026 and moves daily. We do not test machines and do not claim to.
How this page was put together, and what our method can and cannot prove, is set out in our editorial policy.