Home Espresso GuideWhich machine, and why.

Machine review · updated 28 August 2026

Ninja Luxe Café review

Buy the Luxe Café if you want espresso drinks and do not want the espresso hobby. It grinds, weighs the dose, tamps for you, tells you which way to move the grind after every shot, froths milk to a preset, and also makes drip coffee and cold brew. Skip it if you want to learn to pull a shot yourself, or if you expect to upgrade baskets and tampers later, because Ninja does not publish the portafilter diameter those parts are sold by.

Most espresso writing treats that first paragraph as a confession. It is not. Breville sells you a portafilter and a learning curve; Ninja sells you three drinks and a machine that closes the loop for you. Both are real answers to “I would like a latte at home”, and the search data says a lot of people are weighing exactly this right now: searches for breville vs ninja are up 336% year on year, the fastest-growing comparison in this category. The question worth answering is what the three-in-one gives up, not whether wanting one is embarrassing.

What “3 machines in 1” is

The listing sets out the modes precisely: two espresso styles (double or quad shot), three drip coffee styles (classic, rich, over ice) and two cold brew styles (cold-pressed espresso, or cold brew coffee), with drip and cold brew available in seven sizes from 6 to 18 ounces. The cold-pressed setting is described as espresso brewed slower, at lower temperature and pressure. That is a genuinely different drink, not a marketing name for the same shot.

What comes in the box, per the listing: a portafilter, a milk jug, a double basket, a “Luxe Basket”, an assisted tamper, a funnel, a cleaning brush and disc, descaling powder, cleaning tablets and a hard-water test kit. It is Amazon’s Choice in its category and the listing shows it ranked #1 in Espresso Machine & Coffeemaker Combos, #8,336 in Home & Kitchen overall. Our snapshot records around 300 bought in the past month.

Barista Assist is the actual product

The three modes are what gets it into the cart. The automation is what you live with. Four things, all described in the listing’s own bullets:

It recommends a grind size after every brew, based on how the last one ran. It doses by weight, using a built-in scale, rather than grinding for a set number of seconds. The tamper is assisted, so the puck is compressed the same way each time. It adjusts temperature and pressure during the shot rather than exposing either as a setting. Milk is handled by a Dual Froth System that steams and whisks at once, with four presets: steamed milk, thin froth, thick froth, cold foam.

Read that list next to what a new Breville owner does in their first month and it is the same list. Grind adjustment, dose consistency, tamp pressure, shot temperature. Ninja has taken the four variables that make espresso a skill and made three of them the machine’s job, leaving the fourth as a suggestion on a screen. If you make two lattes on a weekday morning, that is not a loss. Learning is a cost you were never planning to pay.

The cost is real too, and it is not about flavour. A machine that decides is a machine you cannot argue with. The feedback loop that eventually teaches you what a particular bag of beans wants is the loop this closes on your behalf, so your skill stays roughly where it started. And the ceiling is wherever Ninja set it. There is no version of this machine where you get better than it does.

Ninja Luxe Café Premier (ES601)
If you want the drinks, not the hobby

Ninja Luxe Café Premier (ES601)

Espresso, drip and rapid cold brew in one body, with grind recommendations, weight-based dosing and an assisted tamper doing the parts that are usually a learning curve.

View on Amazon

$599.99 · 2,467 reviews

The number Ninja does not print

The word portafilter appears exactly once on this listing, in the what’s-included line. Not in the ten feature bullets, not in the thirty-odd structured specification fields, and nowhere with a diameter attached. There is no published portafilter size for this machine.

That matters later rather than on day one. Baskets, bottomless portafilters, tampers and distribution tools are all sold by diameter: 54 mm fits the Breville range, 58 mm is the commercial standard the Gaggia E24 uses. A machine with no published diameter is a machine whose consumables you buy from one place. The included “Luxe Basket” points the same way: it is a Ninja part with a Ninja name, not a size you can shop for.

The listing also states no pump pressure. That is worth a moment, because this category lies with that number constantly: cheap machines advertise 20 bar when espresso is extracted at about 9, and the 20 describes the pump’s ceiling rather than anything the coffee sees. Ninja claims neither figure and instead describes pressure as something the machine adjusts. Read generously, that is more honest than 20 bar. Read practically, it leaves you with no number to check and no way to compare.

Specs, and the gaps in them

SpecNinja Luxe Café Premier (ES601)Breville Barista Touch (BES880)Breville Barista Express (BES870XL)
Price (snapshot)$599.99$987.99$699.95
HeatingNot stated by the listingNot stated by the listingNot stated by the listing
PortafilterNot stated54 mm54 mm
Built-in grinderYesYesYes
MilkAutomatic steam wandListing operation mode is “Fully Automatic”Automatic steam wandListing operation mode is “Fully Automatic”Manual steam wandSteam wand — listing's spec field says “Manual”
Power1650 W1680 W1600 W
Water tankNot statedNot stated67 oz
Advertised pressureNot statedNot statedNot stated
Amazon rating4.2★ (2,467)4.2★ (3,895)4.4★ (27,821)
Prices, ratings and review counts are Amazon's, snapshot 28 August 2026. "Not stated" means the listing does not publish a usable figure — three of the Luxe Café's rows read that way, which is itself the finding.

Three blanks in one column. No portafilter diameter, no advertised pressure, no water tank figure we will stand behind. On the tank, the listing’s Capacity field does read 70 fluid ounces, which is plausible for a machine this size and sits just above the Breville pair’s 67 ounces. We still record it as not stated, because that same field reads “1 cups” on the Barista Express listing and “4 pounds” on the Bambino Plus. A field that is wrong on two listings out of three is not evidence on the fourth.

One more honest note about that table. The heating row reads “Not stated by the listing” because that is exactly what it is: the Luxe Café’s listing contains no heating-system field, and no “thermo” or “boiler” string anywhere in its text. We removed our own classification from that row rather than present a guess as a spec. The wattage, 1650 W, is the listing’s own. The grinder is a conical burr with 25 grind settings, also the listing’s figure, and it is the component the review corpus complains about most.

Three machines, one footprint

The obvious objection to a three-in-one is that it must be enormous. It is not. Measured as counter area from each listing’s own dimensions, the Luxe Café takes 181 square inches against 173 for a Barista Express and 197 for a Barista Touch.

Luxe Café181 in²Express173 in²Touch197 in²
Circle area is proportional to counter area (depth × width) from each machine's Amazon listing dimensions. Area is used rather than width because these listings do not label depth and width consistently between brands.

That is 5% more counter than the Barista Express and 8% less than the Barista Touch, which is to say the three-in-one costs essentially nothing in floor area against machines that only make espresso. It is also the shortest of the three at 14.57 inches against 15.9 and 16, which is the dimension that actually decides whether a machine lives under a wall cabinet. It is the heaviest, at 25.7 pounds, so plan to leave it where you put it.

The real space argument is the one the table cannot show: if a drip coffee maker currently sits beside your espresso machine, this replaces both. Judge the footprint against what leaves the counter, not just against what arrives.

4.2 stars, and where the bad ones come from

What buyers report — Ninja Luxe Café Premier (ES601)patterns across 2,467 Amazon reviews · 4.2★ · read 28 August 2026
  • Praised: Quality is by far the largest cluster: 622 mentions, 531 of them positive. Nothing else on the listing comes close. — people who keep this machine are emphatic about it
  • Praised: Coffee quality (299 mentions, 264 positive) and coffee taste (109, 89 positive) are aggregated as separate topics and both lean the same way. — the drinks are not the compromise here
  • Praised: Versatility draws only 78 mentions, 68 of them positive — the smallest named topic on the listing. — the three-in-one is what sells the machine and not what owners mostly talk about afterwards
  • Praised: Cleaning draws 107 mentions, 83 positive, with the self-cleaning frother named in Amazon's own summary of them.
  • Mixed: Value for money is more split than the headline suggests: 334 mentions, 237 positive against 97 negative. — roughly one mention in three of the price is a complaint about it
  • Mixed: Reliability splits 152 positive to 104 negative across 256 mentions, describing units that either work well or stop working properly.
  • Complaint: Durability is the corpus's clear problem: 88 mentions, 65 of them negative, and Amazon's own summary of them names the grinder failing after 8 to 15 months and the bean hopper basket. — the failures cluster on the parts all three brewing modes share

Counts are Amazon's own review-topic aggregation on this listing — how many reviews it groups under each topic and how they split. They are not quoted from individual reviews, not collected by us, and not from testing, which this site does not do.

The shape is unambiguous. On what the machine makes, the corpus is strongly positive. On whether it keeps making it, 74% of durability mentions are negative, and Amazon’s own summary of them names the grinder failing after 8 to 15 months. That is the shared component: the grinder feeds espresso, drip and cold brew alike, so one failure takes all three machines with it. This is the honest structural risk of a three-in-one, and it is worth more attention than the star average.

It is also worth putting next to its cross-shops rather than left hanging.

SpecNinja Luxe Café Premier (ES601)Breville Barista Touch (BES880)Breville Barista Express (BES870XL)
Amazon rating4.2★ (2,467)4.2★ (3,895)4.4★ (27,821)
Durability mentions88113861
…of those negative74%79%57%
Reliability mentions256297No such topic on this listing
…of those negative41%56%No such topic on this listing
Amazon's own review-topic aggregation, read from each listing. Only the durability and reliability topics are shown: the Barista Express listing returned malformed totals for its other topics, so nothing else from it is quotable as a count.

The Luxe Café’s durability complaints are proportionally lighter than the Barista Touch’s, and its reliability split is the better of the two. That is not the result the category expects, and we are not going to bury it because it is inconvenient. The Barista Express, a design with 27,821 reviews behind it, sits lowest of the three at 57% — a longer track record than either of the others can offer, and the fair benchmark here.

Two caveats keep that honest. The corpora are wildly different sizes, and the Luxe Café’s is the youngest of the three, so it has had less time to accumulate the failures that show up in year two. The listing shows a free 30-day refund or replacement window, which is shorter than the 8-to-15-month pattern the complaints describe. If you buy this, buy it where a claim after that window is somebody’s problem other than yours.

Why there is no dial-in tool on this page

Other machine pages on this site carry a grind troubleshooter: your shot ran in nine seconds, go finer, change one thing at a time. It is the most useful thing we can put in front of a new espresso owner, and it would be decoration here. This machine already does that job. It watches the brew, recommends the next grind size, and doses to a weight instead of a timer, which is the other half of the same problem. A tool that repeats the machine’s own advice back to you is engagement, not help.

That is the whole decision in one paragraph. If reading a grind troubleshooter sounds like the good part of owning an espresso machine, you want a different machine. If it sounds like homework, this is the one.

What it gives up

An upgrade path. No published portafilter diameter, a proprietary basket, and no stated pressure. Everything you add later, you add from Ninja.

Manual milk. The listing describes frothing entirely in presets and calls it hands-free; it says nothing about controlling the wand yourself. If pouring latte art is on your list, nothing in this listing suggests this machine is where you learn it.

Headroom. The automation that gets a good shot out of you in week one is the same automation that stops week fifty being better than week two. Some owners will never notice. The ones who would are the ones who should read the next section.

Failure isolation. Three machines in one body means one grinder, one pump, one board. The corpus says the grinder is the weak point, and the grinder is upstream of everything it makes.

Who should buy something else

If you want to learn. The Barista Express gives you a manual wand, a 54 mm portafilter with an enormous accessory market behind it, and the longest track record in this set. It also hands you every variable at once, which is the point and the problem. We put the two head to head in Ninja Luxe Café vs Barista Express.

If you want automatic milk but a real portafilter path. The Barista Touch textures milk for you and still uses 54 mm fittings, so the accessory market stays open. It costs meaningfully more and its own durability topic runs 79% negative, so this is not a straightforward upgrade.

If you want no involvement at all, a bean-to-cup super-automatic removes the portafilter entirely and makes the whole drink on one button. That is a different hobby rather than a better machine, which is what De’Longhi vs Breville is about.

If you are still deciding between the two brands rather than two models, that is the question everyone is asking right now, and Breville vs Ninja takes it on directly.

And if none of that moved you: wanting three drinks, guided prompts and no learning curve is a legitimate way to buy an espresso machine. It is most of the market. The Luxe Café is built for it more deliberately than anything else here.

Where this leaves you

The right buy if you want the drinks and not the learning curve

  • Espresso, drip and rapid cold brew in one body, with grind recommendations, weight-based dosing and an assisted tamper doing the work a Breville owner learns by hand.
  • 181 square inches of counter — 5% more than a Barista Express, 8% less than a Barista Touch, and the shortest of the three.
  • 4.2★ across 2,467 Amazon reviews, with durability the clear source of the low ones: 74% of those mentions are negative and cluster on the grinder.
  • Not the buy if you want to learn to pull a shot, or expect to upgrade baskets and tampers later — Ninja publishes no portafilter diameter.

Price, rating and review count are Amazon's, read 28 August 2026, and change without notice. We do not test machines and do not claim to.

Ninja Luxe Café Premier (ES601)
Ninja

Luxe Café Premier (ES601)

$599.99

View on Amazon

300+ bought last month

How this page was put together, and what our method can and cannot prove, is set out in our editorial policy.