Home Espresso GuideWhich machine, and why.

Buying guide · updated 28 August 2026

Best home espresso machine

For most people buying one machine and nothing else, it is the Breville Barista Express. Not because it makes the best espresso here — it is a 2013 design — but because it is the only machine on this list that is a complete setup in one box, and because its durability record is the least bad in the set. Skip it if you already own a grinder, if you want the milk handled for you, or if the machine has to disappear into a small kitchen. Those are three different machines, and they are below.

The honest answer to “which is best” is that these are not six versions of one appliance. They are four: a machine you feed ground coffee, a machine with a grinder bolted on, a bean-to-cup that does everything behind a button, and a cheap machine that asks more of you than its price suggests. Pick the shape first. The model follows.

The finding nobody puts in the headline

Amazon groups each listing’s reviews into topics and publishes a positive and a negative count for every one. Read across all six of these listings on 4 September 2026, one pattern holds without exception: the topic about whether the machine lasts is the worst-scoring topic on every machine here. Not one of the six clears 50% positive on it. The best of them is the Breville Barista Express (BES870XL) at 43% positive; the worst is the Breville Bambino (BES450) at 19%.

SpecCASABREWS CM5418 CompactBreville Bambino (BES450)Gaggia E24 (RI9380/46)De'Longhi Magnifica StartBreville Barista Express (BES870XL)Breville Barista Touch (BES880)
Topic Amazon publishesDurabilityDurabilityDurabilityReliabilityDurabilityDurability
Mentions3318912441870113
Positive share36%19%38%41%43%21%
Negative share64%81%62%59%57%79%
Total reviews8,1142,5983,16936127,8213,895
Amazon's own review-topic counts, read 4 September 2026. Every total is positive + negative added rather than taken from Amazon's summary field, which truncates totals of 1,000 or more. The De'Longhi listing publishes no durability topic at all, so its nearest published equivalent is shown and labelled.

That changes what the question is. You are not choosing a machine that will last against ones that will not — you are choosing which failure you would rather have, and how far from your kitchen the fix lives. A machine with a grinder inside it goes away for service as one 22-pound object, coffee and all. A machine that takes ground coffee is half a setup, and when it dies the grinder stays on the counter.

It also puts the price differences in proportion. The spread across these six is real money, and none of it buys an escape from the topic above.

SpecCASABREWS CM5418 CompactBreville Bambino (BES450)Gaggia E24 (RI9380/46)De'Longhi Magnifica StartBreville Barista Express (BES870XL)Breville Barista Touch (BES880)
Price (snapshot)$119.99$299.95$449.00$694.00$699.95$987.99
HeatingNot stated by the listingThermoJetNot stated by the listingNot stated by the listingNot stated by the listingNot stated by the listing
Portafilter51 mm54 mm58 mmNot stated54 mm54 mm
Built-in grinderNoNoNoYesYesYes
MilkManual steam wandSteam wand, per the listing's feature textAutomatic steam wandSteam wand — listing's spec field says “Manual”, its own bullets say automaticManual steam wandManual steam wandListing says "MANUAL FROTHER" in its features, and its Item Type Name reads "Automatic Espresso Machine with Manual Milk Frothing" — the "Fully Automatic" operation mode describes brewing, not milkManual steam wandSteam wand — listing's spec field says “Manual”Automatic steam wandListing operation mode is “Fully Automatic”
Power1350 W1560 W1200 W1250 W1600 W1680 W
Water tank34 ozNot statedNot statedNot stated67 ozNot stated
Advertised pressure20 barNot stated9 barNot statedNot statedNot stated
Amazon rating4.3★ (8,114)4.0★ (2,598)4.4★ (3,169)4.0★ (361)4.4★ (27,821)4.2★ (3,895)
Snapshot from this site's product data, 28 August 2026. "Not stated" means the listing does not publish the figure — which, on heating system, is most of this category. Ratings and review counts are Amazon's, not ours.

What it actually costs to pull a shot

Three of these six have no grinder, and a machine without a grinder does not make espresso. Pre-ground coffee was set at a factory to a grind you cannot move, and moving it a fraction at a time is the entire skill. So the comparable number is not the sticker price — it is the machine plus a grinder, where one is needed.

Worked example

Machine, plus a grinder where there isn't one

Snapshot prices from 28 August 2026, using Breville's own Smart Grinder Pro at $199.95 for every machine that needs one — same brand, and a listing that names cradles for both 50–54 mm and 58 mm baskets. Prices move. The order they land in is the point.

  1. 1CASABREWS CM5418 Compact$119.99 machine + $199.95 grinder.$319.94
  2. 2Breville Bambino (BES450)$299.95 machine + $199.95 grinder.$499.90
  3. 3Gaggia E24 (RI9380/46)$449.00 machine + $199.95 grinder.$648.95
  4. 4De'Longhi Magnifica StartGrinder built in — nothing to add.$694.00
  5. 5Breville Barista Express (BES870XL)Grinder built in — nothing to add.$699.95
  6. 6Breville Barista Touch (BES880)Grinder built in — nothing to add.$987.99
The ordering is not the one the sticker prices give you. The Gaggia E24 plus a grinder lands $51.00 under the Barista Express while giving you a 58 mm commercial portafilter and a grinder that survives the machine. That is the strongest argument on this page for not buying the machine at the top of it.

The one with a grinder in it

The Barista Express is the machine most people mean when they say they want an espresso machine. Grinder, dose, tamp and brew in one body, at 54 mm, with a 67 oz tank. It is also the most-reviewed object in this niche by a distance: 27,821 reviews, 61% of every review across this whole shortlist, and Amazon ranks it #2 in Semi-Automatic Espresso Machines against the newer Barista Pro at #34 on the same read.

A 2013 design still outselling its own replacements is worth taking seriously rather than explaining away. What it gives up is speed and a screen — the Express against the Barista Pro is where that gap gets priced. And its listing does not publish a heating system at all, which for the single most consequential spec on a home machine is a strange silence.

What buyers report — Breville Barista Express (BES870XL)patterns across 27,821 Amazon reviews · 4.4★ · read 28 August 2026
  • Praised: Performance is the largest topic on any listing in this shortlist: 3,867 mentions, 87% positive. — on whether it makes good coffee, a corpus this size is not a close call
  • Praised: Coffee quality runs 1,663 mentions at 93% positive — the cleanest split on the listing.
  • Praised: Ease of use draws 1,421 mentions at 78% positive, with 312 of them negative. — a machine with a hopper, a dial and a tamper does not land easily for everyone
  • Complaint: Durability is the one topic where the negatives win: 870 mentions, 57% negative. — and this is the best durability score in the shortlist, not the worst
  • Mixed: None of the topics Amazon names on this listing is the grinder — not grind quality, not grind consistency, not grind settings. — the component that separates this machine from the cheaper ones is the one its corpus will not let you check

Topic names and per-topic positive and negative mention counts are Amazon's own review-topic aggregation on each listing, read 4 September 2026 — summarised, never quoted, and not from testing, which this site does not do. Every total is positive + negative added, because Amazon's own "mentions_count" field truncates any total of 1,000 or more to its thousands digit and reported this listing's 3,867-mention Performance topic as the number 3. Amazon generates these groupings, so a topic being absent from a listing is not proof nobody raised it.

Breville Barista Express (BES870XL)
Best for most people

Breville Barista Express (BES870XL)

One box, one plug, one thing to learn — and the least bad durability record in this shortlist, which is a low bar it still clears first.

View on Amazon

$699.95 · 27,821 reviews

The one for people who already grind

The Breville Bambino (BES450) is 6.3 inches wide and heats in about three seconds, per its own listing, which is the fastest claim any Breville here makes. It has no grinder. That is a feature if you own one, and a hidden $199.95 if you do not — the full arithmetic against the Barista Express works that through, and the gap turns out to be smaller than the stickers suggest.

Its corpus is the sharpest split in the set: espresso quality 84% positive across 196 mentions, against durability at 81% negative. Nobody is arguing the small machine makes worse coffee. They are arguing about how long it does it for. Buy it where returns are easy.

The one that goes somewhere

The Gaggia E24 is the only machine on this site under $2,000 with a 58 mm commercial portafilter, and the only one that advertises 9 bar rather than a bigger, worse number. Both of those matter for the same reason: 58 mm is the size the aftermarket is built around, so baskets, tampers and distribution tools all fit, and the machine stops being a dead end.

Its listing carries the sharpest warning in this shortlist. Amazon groups 62 mentions under leakage, and 94% of them are negative — the most one-sided topic on any of these six listings, in either direction. Consistency runs negative too, at 65%. Against that, performance is 83% positive across 438 mentions. Both things are true, and a page that gave you only the second one would be selling you something.

The one that does the milk for you

The Breville Barista Touch (BES880) is the most hands-off machine here that still has a portafilter: grinder inside, touchscreen, automatic milk. If the thing standing between you and a flat white is steaming milk, this is the machine that removes it, and the step above it costs $1,300 more for automatic tamping and a worse rating.

The cost is in its own corpus. Reliability draws 298 mentions at 56% negative, and value for money 283 mentions at 38% negative — the only machine here where both of those run against it. Automating the milk adds a pump, a thermometer and a wand that moves. Every one of those is a part.

The one that is not really espresso equipment

A bean-to-cup like the De’Longhi Magnifica Start grinds, doses, tamps and brews behind a single button. There is no portafilter, so there is nothing to dial in and nothing to get wrong — and nothing to improve either. That is a legitimate thing to want, and bean-to-cup against a portafilter machine is a choice between two hobbies rather than two products.

Its evidence base is thin and we will not pad it. 361 reviews is a fraction of what every other machine here carries, its listing publishes no durability topic at all, and the reliability topic it does publish runs 59% negative across only 41 mentions. That is too small a sample to conclude much from in either direction, which is itself the finding.

The cheap one, and what its headline number means

The CASABREWS CM5418 is Amazon’s #1 best seller in Semi-Automatic Espresso Machines on this read, with 8,114 reviews and a 51 mm portafilter. Its listing leads with 20 bar. The Gaggia above it leads with 9. Read as a ranking, that is backwards, and reading it as a ranking is the single most common mistake in this category.

A pump’s bar rating is what it can generate against a closed valve with no coffee in the way. What the coffee sees is set by how hard the puck resists. So the headline is a ceiling nothing brews at — and no listing here, at any price, states what pressure actually reaches the coffee. The tool below is the fastest way to see that: type any figure off any listing into it and watch which readings move.

What a bar number on a listing actually tells you

Type in the figure from any espresso machine listing. Watch what happens to the two readings underneath it.

Advertised pump pressure
bar
15, 19 and 20 bar are the usual claims. Try each one — only the first tile moves.
Where the needle sits mid-shot
The CM5418 has a gauge on the front, so you can watch this happen

A pump’s bar rating is what it can generate against a closed valve, with no coffee in the way. What the coffee sees is set further down the line, by how hard the puck resists and by whatever the machine bleeds off. So the headline number is a ceiling nothing brews at, and two machines quoting different ceilings are not ranked by them.

We have not measured this machine, or any machine. There is no test rig behind this page. Everything above is either a figure you typed in off a listing, a convention, or an explicit statement that the listings do not publish the number.
The listing's number20barCASABREWS files 20 bar under a field called Output Pressure. It does not say output where.
Espresso is brewed at9barThe conventional figure, and the one the Gaggia E24 advertises instead of a bigger one.
Reaching your coffee?Not stated on any listing in this category, at any price.
The puck is too loose, not the pump too weak. Water is passing through with little to push against. CASABREWS's own listing gives the remedy and it says nothing about the pump: grind finer, put more coffee in the basket, or tamp harder. A machine advertising 20 bar reads low here for exactly the same reasons one advertising 9 bar would.

What the CM5418 really gives up shows in its own topic counts. Heating speed runs 52% negative and durability 64% negative, against espresso quality at 89% positive across 930 mentions. It makes espresso people are happy with, slowly, for a while. The full CM5418 review goes further into where that lands. If money is the binding constraint, this is a real machine and not a toy — but add a grinder to the plan before you decide it is cheap.

Counter space, drawn to scale

The last thing that decides this is the one people measure after the box arrives. These are each listing’s own published dimensions, as depth × width, drawn so the circles are proportional to the area each machine takes off your counter.

CM541867 in²E2476 in²Bambino86 in²Magnifica157 in²Barista173 in²Barista197 in²
Counter area in square inches, from each listing's product dimensions field, read 4 September 2026. Amazon does not order depth and width consistently across these listings, so area is used rather than either edge. Height is excluded — it matters for cupboards, not for counters.

The surprise is that the Gaggia E24 (RI9380/46), the machine with the biggest portafilter here, takes 97 square inches less counter than the Barista Express and less than the Bambino, which is the one marketed on being small. Narrow is not the same as compact. The Bambino wins on width and loses on depth, and counters are rectangles.

Where this leaves you

One box, no thinking about it: the Barista Express. It is the default for a reason and its durability record, while not good, is the best here. You already own a grinder: the Bambino, and do not pay again for a component you have. You expect to still be doing this in five years: the Gaggia E24, with the leakage topic read first and returns checked before you buy.

The milk is the obstacle: the Barista Touch, knowing you are buying more moving parts on a machine whose reliability topic already runs negative. You want coffee, not a hobby: a bean-to-cup, accepting that the evidence base is thin. Money is the constraint: the CASABREWS CM5418, plus a grinder, and ignore the bar number entirely.

The one recommendation that applies to all six: buy where returning it is easy. On a set of listings where the wear topic runs negative everywhere, the return window is the only warranty you control.

What this page cannot tell you

We have not used any of these machines. There is no test rig, no kitchen and no sample unit, so nothing here is a taste judgement, a noise reading or a measured heat-up time. This page is built from what six Amazon listings publish, from Amazon’s own review-topic counts read 4 September 2026, and from arithmetic on both.

Two gaps are worth naming. First, a re-read of the Barista Touch listing on 4 September 2026 states ThermoJet heating and a 67 oz tank, while this site’s product data — snapshotted 28 August 2026 — records neither and the spec table above therefore shows “Not stated” for both. We are reporting the disagreement rather than quietly picking a side. Second, the Bambino listing returned 3,251 reviews on the same re-read against the 2,598 in our snapshot six days earlier; Amazon aggregates review counts across a listing’s variation family, so a jump that size is more likely a change in which variants are counted than 653 new reviews in a week. Every figure on this page uses the dated snapshot, consistently, rather than mixing the two.

And the cost-to-first-shot figures use one specific grinder as a stand-in for a decision that has hundreds of answers. It makes the six machines comparable on the same basis. It is not a recommendation that this is the grinder you should buy.

Where this leaves you

If you are buying one machine and nothing else

  • A complete setup in one box — grinder, 54 mm portafilter, tamper and 67 oz tank
  • 27,821 reviews, 61% of every review across this shortlist, and Amazon's #2 rank in Semi-Automatic Espresso Machines on this read
  • Durability runs 57% negative across 870 mentions — the best score on that topic in this set, and still not a good one
  • Performance 87% positive across 3,867 mentions

Prices are a snapshot taken 28 August 2026 and will have changed. Review topics were read 4 September 2026. We have not tested any of these products; ratings and review topics are Amazon's, and this page earns a commission if you buy through it.

Breville Barista Express (BES870XL)
Breville

Barista Express (BES870XL)

$699.95

View on Amazon

1,000+ bought last month

Snapshot figures on this page, read 28 August 2026: CM5418 Compact $119.99, 4.3★ across 8,114 reviews; Bambino (BES450) $299.95, 4.0★ across 2,598 reviews; E24 (RI9380/46) $449.00, 4.4★ across 3,169 reviews; Magnifica Start $694.00, 4.0★ across 361 reviews; Barista Express (BES870XL) $699.95, 4.4★ across 27,821 reviews; Barista Touch (BES880) $987.99, 4.2★ across 3,895 reviews. Review topics across all six listings were read 4 September 2026 and total 17,395 catalogued mentions, every one computed as Amazon’s positive and negative counts added.