Home Espresso GuideWhich machine, and why.

Comparison · updated 28 August 2026

Breville Barista Express vs Barista Pro

Buy the Barista Express unless the thing you are buying is the warranty. These are the same machine in every way that decides what ends up in the cup — the same 54 mm portafilter, the same built-in conical burr grinder, the same manual steam wand, the same 4.4-star Amazon average — and $150 apart. The Pro is sold on its heating system. The one honest reason to spend the difference is a second year of cover on a category whose worst review topic is things breaking.

Four differences, and only one of them pays out

Read 29 August 2026, the two listings differ in exactly four places. The Pro’s description names a ThermoJet heating system. Its Human Interface Input field reads “Buttons” where the Express’s reads “Dial”, and its description adds grinding and extraction progress animations on an LCD. Its warranty field reads “2 Year Limited Product Warranty” against “1 Year Limited Product Warranty”. And it costs $150 more.

Three of those four change how the machine feels to use. One of them changes what happens when the steam wand stops working in month fourteen. That is the whole argument of this page, and everything below is the evidence for it.

One thing worth clearing up first, because it is where most comparisons go wrong. PID temperature control is not part of what you are paying for. Both descriptions name “digital temperature control (PID)” in almost identical wording. The Pro adds a named heating system on top of it; it does not add temperature control that the older machine lacks. If you have read that the Express runs without PID, the listing disagrees.

Nor is the grinder. Both descriptions name an integrated conical burr grinder with dose control feeding straight into the portafilter, and both take 54 mm baskets. Whatever separates these two, it is not the component that usually decides an espresso purchase — which is why the Bambino against the Barista Express is the more consequential comparison. That one is about whether you own a grinder at all.

SpecBreville Barista Express (BES870XL)Breville Barista Pro (BES878)
Price (snapshot)$699.95$849.95
HeatingNot stated by the listingThermoJet
Portafilter54 mmNot stated
Built-in grinderYesYes
MilkManual steam wandSteam wand — listing's spec field says “Manual”Manual steam wand
Power1600 W1680 W
Water tank67 ozNot stated
Advertised pressureNot statedNot stated
Amazon rating4.4★ (27,821)4.4★ (3,413)
Snapshot 28 August 2026; Amazon's ratings and review counts are Amazon's, not ours. Three cells need reading carefully. Heating: the Pro's description names ThermoJet outright and the Express's listing names no heating system anywhere — not in its bullets, its description or its spec table — so the honest cell is the empty one, not a guess at what a BES870XL contains. Water tank: the Express states 67 oz in its own features text, while the Pro's listing publishes no usable capacity at all — its Capacity field reads "2 liters" and the Express's reads "1 cups" for what is very nearly the same tank, which is why this site never uses that field. Portafilter: the Express states 54 mm in its own accessories text; the Pro's listing publishes no diameter at all, so that cell is empty rather than assumed.

The identical rows are the interesting ones. Same portafilter diameter, same grinder arrangement, same manual milk, same star average to one decimal place, and 80 watts between them. The Pro is an inch and a half wider at 13"D x 14"W x 16"H against 13.8"D x 12.5"W x 15.9"H, though lighter — so if your machine lives in a gap between cabinets, the upgrade is the one that might not fit.

The heating system is the headline and the weakest reason

Here is the part that should make you suspicious of the pitch. Neither listing publishes a heat-up time. The Pro names ThermoJet and puts no number of seconds beside it. The Express names no heating system and no number either. The only time claim on either page belongs to the older machine: its description says a home barista can go from beans to espresso in under one minute. We have not timed either machine, so we are not filling that gap with a figure we cannot stand behind.

What we can report is what owners raise. Brew time appears as a topic on the Pro’s listing — 71 mentions, 70% positive — and it is the smallest of its eight topics. Amazon’s own summary of that topic says buyers describe it as faster than regular machines and note about four to five seconds before the steam wand is ready after a shot. On the Express’s listing, across a corpus roughly 8 times larger, speed does not appear as a topic at all.

That is weak evidence and inflating it would be dishonest. Amazon generates these topic sets and caps how many it shows, so a topic can be missing because it ranked ninth rather than because nobody raised it. Taken at its weakest it still says something: the people who bought the fast machine mention the speed less often than they mention the price, the setup or the reliability.

The structural point needs no corpus at all. A warm-up is paid once per sitting, not once per drink. Whether that cost is large is a fact about your household rather than about either machine, and it is the only part of the heating argument that can be computed honestly:

How often you actually wait for a machine to heat

Runs in your browser. Nothing is sent anywhere, and no machine is timed.

Sittings a day
A sitting is any time you walk up to a cold machine
Drinks per sitting
drinks
Count everybody in the house, not just you

Warm-up is paid per sitting. Everything after the first drink comes off a machine that is already hot, which is why the same heating system can be the deciding feature for one household and invisible to the one next door.

There is no time in seconds anywhere in this tool, and that is on purpose. The Barista Pro’s listing names ThermoJet and PID temperature control but publishes no warm-up time; the Barista Express’s listing names no heating system at all. We have not timed either machine. So this counts waits, which we can compute from what you typed, rather than seconds, which we cannot.
Cold starts a week7One per sitting, however many cups come out of it.
Drinks a week14What the machine is actually asked to produce.
Drinks behind a wait50%The rest are pulled on a machine that is already up to temperature.
Most of your drinks come off an already-hot machine. You pay the warm-up once and then pull the rest back-to-back. The wait is a fixed cost of starting, not a tax on each cup, so it shrinks as a share of your morning the moment a second person wants coffee.

Set it to one drink a sitting and every cup starts from cold — that household is the one buyer the ThermoJet is genuinely for, and the $150 is defensible on those grounds alone. Set it to three and two thirds of your coffee comes off a machine that is already hot. Neither answer is on the spec sheet.

What the second year is insuring against

Durability is the worst-performing review topic in this whole category, and on the Barista Express it is the only one of eight topics where negatives outnumber positives: 861 mentions, 57% negative. On the Barista Pro it runs 74% negative across 85 mentions, and the summary Amazon attaches to it describes units failing within three months of purchase — the steam wand and the flow meter by name.

So there is no evidence the newer machine is better built. Its durability topic runs a worse split than the Express’s, its reliability topic is a straight dead heat at 102 positive against 105 negative, and the Express has no reliability topic for us to compare that against. Read the other way, durability takes up 8.0% of the Express’s topic mentions against 6.4% of the Pro’s, which points mildly the opposite way. Neither reading settles the other, so what survives is the narrow version: nothing here says the machine built to replace the Express is more robust than it.

That is exactly why the warranty matters rather than the hardware. You are not buying a machine that fails less often. You are buying twelve more months in which a failure is somebody else’s bill, on a category that visibly produces failures. Against a complaint pattern this shape, a second year is worth more than a faster heater and more than a screen — and it is the one line on the listing that Breville does not lead with.

Breville Barista Pro (BES878)
If the warranty is the reason

Breville Barista Pro (BES878)

Same grinding, dosing and brewing as the Barista Express, with a 2 Year Limited Product Warranty in the listing's own spec field against the Express's 1 Year. On a category whose worst review topic is durability, that is the upgrade that pays out.

View on Amazon

$849.95 · 3,413 reviews

Two corpora, 8.2 times apart

Before the review topics, the size difference has to be stated, because it changes how much weight any of them can carry. Amazon’s aggregation counts 10,765 topic mentions on the Barista Express against 1,318 on the Barista Pro.

Barista Express10,765Barista Pro1,318
Circle area is proportional to the number of review-topic mentions Amazon's aggregation counts on each listing, read 29 August 2026, computed as positive plus negative across all eight topics apiece. Those mentions come to 38.7% of the Express's review count and 38.6% of the Pro's — near-identical rates, which is some reassurance that the gap between the circles is corpus size rather than Amazon treating the two listings differently. Two listings is not a sample, so read that as reassurance, not as a rule.

The Express has 27,821 Amazon reviews to the Pro’s 3,413. Much of that is age: reviews pile up across a product’s whole life and are pooled across colour variants. What it means for the numbers below is that a percentage on the Express is far steadier than the same percentage on the Pro, and that a topic appearing on one listing and not the other is the weakest kind of evidence there is.

What buyers report — Breville Barista Express (BES870XL)patterns across 27,821 Amazon reviews · 4.4★ · read 28 August 2026
  • Praised: Performance is the largest topic on either listing — 3,867 mentions, 87% positive.
  • Praised: Coffee quality runs 1,666 mentions at 94% positive. — a thirteen-year-old design is not being outvoted on what comes out of the cup
  • Praised: Love is a topic here and not on the Barista Pro: 1,047 mentions, 99% positive, the cleanest split in either corpus. — the older machine has an affection topic; the newer one has a value-for-money argument
  • Praised: Ease of use draws 1,401 mentions at 79% positive, and ease of cleaning a further 535 at 75%. — the dial the Pro replaces with a screen is not a topic anybody is complaining about
  • Praised: Appearance runs 549 mentions at 95% positive, and purchase — best-buy-ever wording — a further 839 at 74%.
  • Complaint: Durability is the only topic of the eight where negatives outnumber positives: 861 mentions, 57% negative, and Amazon's summary of it describes machines failing after about three years. — this is the whole case for a longer warranty, and it is made on the cheaper machine

Counts are Amazon's own review-topic aggregation on this listing, read 29 August 2026 — its positive and negative mention counts per topic, added together. We add them rather than reading the listing's mentions_count field, because that field breaks above a thousand: the four topics on this listing whose true totals pass a thousand report a mentions_count of 3, 1, 1, 1, while its four smaller topics report exactly. Amazon generates and caps these topic sets, so a topic being absent is not proof nobody raised it. Nothing here is quoted from an individual review, collected by us, or from testing, which this site does not do.

What buyers report — Breville Barista Pro (BES878)patterns across 3,413 Amazon reviews · 4.4★ · read 28 August 2026
  • Praised: Performance is the biggest cluster at 392 mentions, 83% positive.
  • Praised: Coffee quality runs 148 mentions at 89% positive and taste a further 74 at 81%. — on the coffee itself neither corpus is arguing
  • Praised: Ease of use draws 171 mentions at 74% positive — a lower positive share than the same topic on the Express.
  • Mixed: Brew time is a topic here and not on the Express: 71 mentions, 70% positive, and the smallest of the Pro's eight. — the feature the machine is sold on is the one its owners raise least
  • Mixed: Value for money is contested at 170 mentions, 68% positive, and Amazon lists no such topic on the Express at all. — the buyers arguing about price are the ones who paid more
  • Mixed: Reliability is a dead heat — 102 positive against 105 negative across 207 mentions — and is another topic absent from the Express listing.
  • Complaint: Durability runs 74% negative across 85 mentions, against 57% negative on the Express, and the summary attached to it describes units failing within three months. — worse on the newer machine, on a corpus too small to settle it

Counts are Amazon's own review-topic aggregation on this listing, read 29 August 2026 — its positive and negative mention counts per topic, added together. We add them rather than reading the listing's mentions_count field, because that field breaks above a thousand: the Barista Express listing reports 3, 1, 1, 1 for its four topics above a thousand, while every topic here is under a thousand and all eight report exactly. Amazon generates and caps these topic sets, so a topic being absent is not proof nobody raised it. Nothing here is quoted from an individual review, collected by us, or from testing, which this site does not do.

Four topics appear on both listings — performance, coffee quality, ease of use and durability — and the two lists diverge completely after that. The Express picks up appearance, purchase, ease of cleaning and love. The Pro picks up reliability, value for money, taste and brew time.

That split is the most quietly damning thing on this page. The machine people write affection about is the $150 cheaper one, and the machine whose buyers argue about whether it was worth the money is the more expensive one. Amazon chooses these topic labels and caps the list at eight, so this is a signal rather than a measurement. But it is the same signal the sales ranks give: the Express sat at number 2 in Semi-Automatic Espresso Machines on 29 August 2026 and the Pro at number 34, with 1K+ bought in the past month against 300+. The replacement is losing to the machine it replaced.

One number cuts the other way. The Pro’s listing carries an Amazon’s Choice badge and the Express’s, the number 2 seller in the same category, carries none — a merchandising decision we have no visibility into, and one that puts the Pro in front of plenty of buyers who never see the ranking. The full case for the newer machine on its own terms is in the Barista Pro review.

The newer machine publishes less about itself

The Barista Express’s feature text runs to 2 bullets and names a 54 mm stainless portafilter, a 67 oz water tank, a half-pound bean hopper, an integrated tamper, low-pressure pre-infusion and its warranty term. The Barista Pro’s entire feature text is 1 bullet listing what is in the box: filter baskets, the Razor dose trimming tool, a milk jug, a cleaning kit and a water filter.

SpecBreville Barista Express (BES870XL)Breville Barista Pro (BES878)
Heating systemNot publishedThermoJet heating system
Temperature controldigital temperature control (PID)digital temperature control (PID)
Pre-infusionLow pressure pre-infusionNot published
Portafilter size54mm Stainless Steel PortafilterNot published
Water tank67 oz Water TankNot published
Bean hopper1/2 lb Bean HopperNot published
TamperIntegrated TamperNot published
Warranty, in the bullets1 Year Limited Product WarrantyNot published
Warranty, in the spec field1 Year Limited Product Warranty2 Year Limited Product Warranty
Feature bullets in total21
What each listing states about itself in its own bullets, description and spec fields, read 29 August 2026. "Not published" means the listing does not say it — it is a finding about the product page, not a claim about the hardware, and not a gap in our research. The warranty appears twice on purpose: the Express states its term in a feature bullet and again in the structured spec field, while the Pro states its longer term only in the structured field, which is the part of an Amazon page fewest buyers scroll to.

Be careful what you conclude from that table. A listing not mentioning pre-infusion or an integrated tamper is a fact about the listing, and we will not tell you the Pro lacks either on that basis. What it does mean is concrete: if one of those is what you are choosing on, the product page will not settle it, and neither will we.

The warranty row is the one to sit with. The strongest reason to buy the Pro is the one specification it does not advertise where a buyer will see it, while the machine with the shorter warranty puts its term in a feature bullet.

The pattern is not unique to this pair. Heating system is the most consequential specification on a home espresso machine, and most listings in this category will not name one — the Express among them, and machines costing considerably more. When a product page will not tell you how it heats water, that absence is information in itself.

So which one

Buy the Barista Express if you are not specifically buying the warranty. You get the same grinder, the same 54 mm portafilter, the same manual wand and the same 4.4-star average for $150 less, from the listing that publishes more about itself and is outselling the machine built to replace it. Its own case is set out in the Barista Express review. The catch is stated in its own spec field: one year of cover on a machine whose review corpus argues about durability more than anything else.

Buy the Barista Pro if that second year is the thing you want, or if you make one drink a sitting and the warm-up is the whole of your wait every morning, or if you would genuinely rather read a display than learn a dial. Those are three real reasons and the first is the strongest. If the Barista Pro is where you land, land there for the warranty and not for the seconds.

Buy neither if the thing you dread is the milk. Both of these texture it by hand, every drink, and no amount of display animation changes that. Barista Pro vs Barista Touch works out what the $138 step to an automatic wand is buying.

Buy neither if you already own a grinder — it is the most expensive component in both boxes and you would be paying for a second one. A Bambino beside the grinder on your counter takes less space and makes the same coffee. If commercial fittings are what you want, the Gaggia E24 is the only machine on this site under $2,000 with a 58 mm portafilter, and the only one advertising 9 bar rather than a bigger, emptier number. It has no grinder, so budget for one.

What this page cannot tell you

We have not used either machine. Nothing above is a taste judgement, a timed heat-up or a report on how one of these feels after a year on a counter, because we have no standing to write any of that. This page is built from what the two listings publish, what Amazon’s review-topic aggregation counts, and the arithmetic of the two side by side.

The durability figures count mentions, not units. A review corpus is self-selected, and 493 negative mentions out of 861 on a topic is not a failure rate — it is a signal about what owners choose to write about, which is a different and weaker thing. Read it as a reason to register the warranty, not as a predicted lifespan.

Where this leaves you

The default answer is still the older machine

  • Number 2 in Semi-Automatic Espresso Machines read 29 August 2026, against number 34 for the machine built to replace it — and a "1K+ bought in past month" badge against "300+".
  • 4.4★ across 27,821 Amazon reviews, the identical star average to the Barista Pro on a corpus about 8 times larger. Performance runs 87% positive across 3,867 mentions.
  • Its listing publishes a 54 mm portafilter, a 67 oz tank, a half-pound hopper, an integrated tamper and low-pressure pre-infusion. The Barista Pro's publishes an accessories list.
  • The catch, stated plainly: 1 Year Limited Product Warranty against the Pro's 2 Year Limited Product Warranty, and durability is 57% negative across 861 mentions. If the cover is what you are buying, buy the Pro instead.

Price, rating and review count are Amazon's, read 28 August 2026, and change without notice. Best Sellers Rank and the listing fields were read 29 August 2026; rank moves daily. We do not test machines and do not claim to.

Breville Barista Express (BES870XL)
Breville

Barista Express (BES870XL)

$699.95

View on Amazon

1,000+ bought last month

How this page was put together, and what our method can and cannot prove, is set out in our editorial policy.