Home Espresso GuideWhich machine, and why.

Comparison · updated 28 August 2026

Ninja Luxe Café vs Breville Barista Express

Buy the Barista Express if espresso is a thing you want to get better at, and buy the Luxe Café if you are furnishing a kitchen rather than starting a hobby. They sit $100 apart and the money is not the argument. The argument is how many appliances you are replacing. The Ninja makes espresso, drip coffee and rapid cold brew. The Breville makes espresso — its listing names exactly one use for the product, in one word — across the deepest corpus we cover.

So the honest first question is not about coffee at all. It is whether a drip machine currently sits on your counter and whether you like it. If you do, two of the Ninja’s three functions are for somebody else, and this becomes a straightforward espresso comparison the Breville mostly wins. If your kitchen is empty, the third function is the entire case for spending less and getting more.

This page is about these two machines specifically. The brand-level question — what Ninja and Breville are each trying to build, and why that comparison is growing faster than anything else in this category — is Breville vs Ninja.

Two listings describing two different products

Amazon makes both manufacturers fill in the same structured fields, which turns out to be the clearest side-by-side either company has written. Under specific uses for product, Breville put one word: espresso. Ninja put five drinks. Under operation mode, Breville put manual and Ninja put fully automatic. Under human interface input, Breville put dial and Ninja put buttons. Nobody is hiding anything. These are two machines built to answer different questions.

SpecNinja Luxe Café Premier (ES601)Breville Barista Express (BES870XL)
Drinks the listing namesCappuccino, espresso, iced coffee, latte, mochaEspresso
Brew modes2 espresso styles, 3 drip styles, 2 cold brew stylesSingle or double shots
Serving sizesDrip and cold brew in 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16 and 18 ozNot applicable — no drip or cold brew
Operation modeFully automaticManual
InterfaceButtonsDial
Warranty on the listingNo warranty term published1 year limited product warranty
Category rank#1 in Espresso Machine & Coffeemaker Combos#2 in Semi-Automatic Espresso Machines
Bought last month300+1,000+
Every cell is a field or a feature bullet from the machine's own Amazon listing, read 28 August 2026. The warranty row is an absence rather than a zero: the Luxe Café listing publishes no warranty term at all, and the only mentions of a warranty on that page sit inside customer reviews. Both listings show the same free 30-day refund or replacement window.

The Ninja’s bullets go further than the fields do. Two espresso styles, double or quad shot. Three drip styles — classic, rich, over ice. Two cold brew styles, one of which is described as espresso pulled slower and at lower temperature and pressure, which is a genuinely different drink rather than a renamed shot. Drip and cold brew run from 6 to 18 ounces in seven steps.

Breville’s description spends its words in the opposite direction: beans to espresso in under a minute, low-pressure pre-infusion that ramps pressure through the shot, digital temperature control, and a steam wand it explicitly sells as manual microfoam texturing for latte art. One machine is widening what you can make. The other is deepening one thing.

That difference has a consequence people discover in month two. The Luxe Café’s grinder feeds all three modes, so it is a single component upstream of everything the machine does. The Barista Express’s grinder feeds one.

The counter arithmetic

The three-in-one is supposed to be the enormous one. It is not, quite. Multiply out each listing’s own dimensions and the Luxe Café occupies 181 square inches of counter against the Barista Express’s 173 — about 5% more, or 8.7 square inches — a patch about three inches square.

Barista Express173 in²Luxe Café181 in²
Circle area is proportional to counter area (depth × width) from each machine's Amazon listing dimensions. Area is used rather than width because the two listings do not label depth and width the same way. Both figures are bounding boxes and neither includes room to lift a hopper lid or lift out a tank.

The Luxe Café is also the shorter machine, by 1.3 inches, which is the dimension that decides whether anything fits under a wall cabinet. It is the heavier of the two at 25.7 pounds against 22.1, so wherever it lands is where it stays.

None of that is the real space argument, though, and this is where most comparisons of these two machines stop early. Measuring the Ninja against the Breville alone answers a question nobody has. The question people actually have is what the counter looks like afterwards — and if the drip maker leaves with the box it came in, the three-in-one is the smaller installation despite being the bigger machine. If the drip maker stays because you like it, the Ninja is 8.7 square inches of espresso machine wrapped around two functions you already own.

Your drip maker is the only figure here we cannot supply, so put yours in:

What actually leaves the counter

Machine areas are each listing's own published dimensions, multiplied. The drip maker is yours — measure it.

Your drip coffee maker
If the three-in-one replaces it, that area comes back. If you would keep it anyway, it never leaves.
Its width
in
Front-on, in inches. The starting figures are placeholders, not a spec.
Its depth
in
Front to back, in inches.
Express + drip281in²
Luxe Café181in²
Counter freed99in²
The swap frees 99 square inches. Two appliances become one. The three-in-one asks for 9 square inches more than the espresso machine on its own, and gives back the 108 your drip maker is using now.

There is no right answer in that panel, which is the point. It resolves into two different comparisons, and most of the disagreement online about these machines is people in one situation arguing with people in the other.

Ninja Luxe Café Premier (ES601)
If the drip maker leaves the counter

Ninja Luxe Café Premier (ES601)

Espresso, drip and rapid cold brew in one body, with grind recommendations, weight-based dosing and an assisted tamper handling what a Breville owner learns by hand.

View on Amazon

$599.99 · 2,467 reviews

Specs, and what neither listing publishes

Read the blanks below as findings rather than as gaps in our research. Both of these listings decline to state things buyers assume are printed somewhere.

SpecNinja Luxe Café Premier (ES601)Breville Barista Express (BES870XL)
Price (snapshot)$599.99$699.95
HeatingNot stated by the listingNot stated by the listing
PortafilterNot stated54 mm
Built-in grinderYesYes
MilkAutomatic steam wandListing operation mode is “Fully Automatic”Manual steam wandSteam wand — listing's spec field says “Manual”
Power1650 W1600 W
Water tankNot stated67 oz
Advertised pressureNot statedNot stated
Amazon rating4.2★ (2,467)4.4★ (27,821)
Specifications as published on each Amazon listing, read 28 August 2026. "Not stated" means the listing does not publish a usable figure. Prices are a dated snapshot and will have moved.

Neither machine names a heating system. A $699.95 design with the deepest review corpus here and a $599.99 machine launched this decade, and between them not one word about how the water gets hot. The Breville description does name digital temperature control and low-pressure pre-infusion, which is temperature management and not a heating system; the Ninja describes pressure and temperature as things the machine adjusts during the brew. Both are real features. Neither is an answer.

Only one of them publishes a portafilter diameter. The Breville states 54 mm in its own included-items bullet, alongside single and dual wall baskets, a Razor dose-trimming tool and an integrated tamper. The Ninja states no diameter anywhere on its page, and the basket it ships is named rather than sized — our Luxe Café review goes through that in detail. The short version: 54 mm is a size you can shop for, and baskets, bottomless portafilters, tampers and distribution tools are all sold by diameter. A machine with no published diameter is a machine whose consumables have one supplier.

Neither advertises a pump pressure. In a category where the CASABREWS CM5418 leads with 20 bar for a process that happens at about nine, two machines quietly printing no number at all is the more honest posture, even though it leaves you nothing to compare.

The water tank row is worth a sentence. Breville states 67 ounces in its features text. The Ninja’s capacity field reads 70 fluid ounces, which is plausible for a machine this size, and we still record it as not stated — because the identical field on the Barista Express listing reads “1 cups”. A field that is nonsense on one of the two listings is not evidence on the other.

What buyers report, on very unequal evidence

These two corpora are not the same kind of object. Amazon groups 10,765 topic mentions on the Barista Express against 1,893 on the Luxe Café, off review counts of 27,821 and 2,467. The Breville’s eleven-fold advantage in reviews is a real advantage — it is the longest track record in this set — but it is also an artefact of a twelve-year head start, and none of it says the newer machine is worse. Read the shapes, not the sizes.

What buyers report — Breville Barista Express (BES870XL)patterns across 27,821 Amazon reviews · 4.4★ · read 28 August 2026
  • Praised: Performance is the largest topic in either corpus — 3,867 mentions, 3,372 of them positive — and on its own it is larger than the Luxe Café's eight topics put together. — the oldest design here is still the thing owners write about approvingly
  • Praised: Coffee quality is the cleanest split on the listing: 1,666 mentions, only 107 negative.
  • Mixed: Ease of use draws 1,401 mentions and is the most contested of the positive topics — 21% negative — with Amazon's own summary of it naming a learning curve. — this is the machine asking you to learn something, and buyers say so
  • Mixed: Ease of cleaning runs 25% negative across 535 mentions.
  • Complaint: Durability is the only topic where negatives outnumber positives — 861 mentions, 57% of them negative — and Amazon's summary describes failures at around the three-year mark. — the failure clock people describe here runs in years

Topic names and sentiment counts are Amazon's own review-topic aggregation on each listing, read on the snapshot date and summarised rather than quoted. Every total here is positive + negative, computed by us: the listing's own mentions_count field abbreviates any total of 1,000 or more and then publishes the abbreviation as an integer, which is why the Barista Express's largest topics read "3" and "1" on Amazon's own page. We have not tested either machine.

What buyers report — Ninja Luxe Café Premier (ES601)patterns across 2,467 Amazon reviews · 4.2★ · read 28 August 2026
  • Praised: Quality is the largest topic on this listing — 622 mentions, 531 positive — and coffee quality and coffee taste are aggregated separately and lean the same way.
  • Praised: Versatility, the reason to buy this machine at all, is the smallest named topic in the corpus: 78 mentions. The Barista Express listing has no versatility topic whatsoever. — what sells the three-in-one is not what owners talk about afterwards
  • Mixed: Value for money is more split than the star average suggests — 334 mentions, 29% negative.
  • Mixed: Reliability splits close to evenly across 256 mentions, 41% of them negative.
  • Complaint: Durability is the corpus's clear problem: 88 mentions, 74% negative, with Amazon's own summary naming the grinder failing between eight and fifteen months. — the grinder is upstream of all three brewing modes

Topic names and sentiment counts are Amazon's own review-topic aggregation on each listing, read on the snapshot date and summarised rather than quoted. Every total here is positive + negative, computed by us: the listing's own mentions_count field abbreviates any total of 1,000 or more and then publishes the abbreviation as an integer, which is why the Barista Express's largest topics read "3" and "1" on Amazon's own page. We have not tested either machine.

Three things survive putting those side by side. The first is that nobody is arguing about the coffee. Coffee quality is overwhelmingly positive on both listings, and any page telling you one of these machines makes bad espresso is not getting that from the people who own them.

The second is durability, and it is the one finding on this page that should change a decision. It is the worst topic in both corpora, but not by the same margin: 57% negative across 861 mentions on the Breville, 74% across 88 on the Ninja. The timescales differ too. Amazon’s own summary of the Breville corpus describes failures at around three years; its summary of the Ninja corpus names the grinder failing between eight and fifteen months. Set that next to the warranty row above — one year published on the Breville listing, nothing published on the Ninja’s — and the practical advice writes itself. Whichever you buy, buy it where a claim in month fourteen is somebody else’s problem, and check the term before you order.

Two caveats keep that honest. Mentions are not failure rates: a review corpus is self-selected and people write when something breaks. And the Luxe Café’s corpus is much younger, so it has had less time to accumulate the year-three failures the Breville’s has.

The third finding is the quietest and the most useful. Versatility — three machines in one, the whole reason the Luxe Café exists — is the smallest named topic in its corpus at 78 mentions, while the Barista Express has no versatility topic at all and its largest topic, performance, runs to 3,867 mentions. What sells a three-in-one is not what owners end up talking about. Which suggests that if the extra two functions are not solving a problem you actually have today, they will not start later.

What each one gives up

The Barista Express gives up everything that is not espresso. No drip, no cold brew, no iced coffee mode, no presets. It also gives up the automation: you set the grind, you dose and trim with the Razor tool, you tamp, and you judge the milk yourself. Its own corpus is candid about the cost of that — ease of use is 21% negative across 1,401 mentions, and Amazon’s summary of that topic names the learning curve out loud.

The Luxe Café gives up the parts market. No published portafilter diameter and a proprietary basket means every consumable and every upgrade comes from one place, and none of the 54 mm accessory ecosystem that has built up around Breville for a decade is available to you.

It also gives up manual milk. Its frothing is described entirely in presets — steamed milk, thin froth, thick froth, cold foam. Breville sells its wand on manual microfoam and latte art. If pouring a rosetta is on your list, only one of these listings even claims to be aimed at you.

And it gives up failure isolation. One grinder, one pump, one board, three jobs. The corpus says the grinder is the weak point, and the grinder is upstream of espresso, drip and cold brew alike.

So which one

Buy the Barista Express if you already own a drip maker you would keep, if you want to learn to pull and steam rather than press a button, or if you expect to buy a bottomless portafilter and better baskets at some point. It is the longer track record, the open accessory standard and the deeper single skill. The full Barista Express review covers what27,821 reviews say in detail, and Barista Express vs Barista Pro is the next question you will have if you choose it.

Buy the Luxe Café if you are outfitting a kitchen from nothing, if somebody in the house drinks drip coffee and somebody else drinks lattes, or if cold brew is a habit rather than a novelty. It costs less, it replaces two appliances, and it closes the loop on grind, dose and tamp so that week one produces something drinkable.

Buy neither if what you want is a machine that makes the whole drink on one button with no portafilter involved. That is a super-automatic, a different category with different compromises, and De’Longhi vs Breville is the page for it. And if you want commercial fittings rather than either brand’s house standard, the Gaggia E24 is the only machine we cover under two thousand dollars with a 58 mm portafilter.

One last framing, because it settles more arguments than any spec here. The Breville is an instrument and the Ninja is an appliance. Instruments reward practice and punish neglect; appliances do neither. Decide which of those you want on your counter every morning, and the $100 stops mattering.

What this page cannot tell you

We have not used either machine. There is no test rig behind this site and nothing above is a taste judgement, a noise measurement or a report on how either of these feels after a year. What this page is built from is what the two listings publish, what Amazon’s review-topic aggregation counts, and the arithmetic of putting those next to each other. Where a listing does not say, we say that instead of guessing.

Where this leaves you

If a drip machine already lives on your counter, this is the one

  • The only one of the two publishing a portafilter diameter — 54 mm, with the largest accessory market in home espresso behind it
  • 27,821 Amazon reviews and 10,765 counted topic mentions, the longest track record of any machine we cover
  • Durability is its weakest topic at 57% negative, with Amazon's summary describing failures around year three — buy where returns are easy
  • Not the buy if you want drip coffee or cold brew too: this listing names exactly one use for the machine

Price, rating and review count are Amazon's, read 28 August 2026, and change without notice. We do not test machines and do not claim to. This page earns a commission if you buy through it.

Breville Barista Express (BES870XL)
Breville

Barista Express (BES870XL)

$699.95

View on Amazon

1,000+ bought last month

Snapshot figures on this page: Luxe Café $599.99, 4.2★ across 2,467 reviews. Barista Express $699.95, 4.4★ across 27,821 reviews. Read 28 August 2026. How we put pages together is set out in our editorial policy.