Home Espresso GuideWhich machine, and why.

Machine review · updated 28 August 2026

Breville Oracle Touch review

On the 28 August 2026 snapshot the Oracle Touch is the most expensive machine this site covers and the lowest rated: $2300.95, and 3.4 stars across 597 Amazon reviews when nothing else here sits below 4.0. It is also, genuinely, the most capable machine on the site — it grinds, doses and tamps for you, and nothing else we cover tamps. Buy it only if tamping is the specific chore you want gone. If milk is the chore, the Barista Touch already solves that for $1312.96 less.

Two numbers, and they point at each other

Every other espresso machine on this site rates between 4.0 and 4.4 stars, averaging 4.2. This one rates 3.4 — a gap of 0.8 of a star below the mean of the field — while costing 2.3 times the next most expensive machine we cover and about 23 times the cheapest.

Price and rating are only loosely related in this category — the cheapest machine here rates higher than several costing five times as much — but no other point is both furthest right and furthest down.

Amazon rating against price — every espresso machine on this site

3.23.43.63.84.04.24.44.6$0$600$1,200$1,800$2,400price (snapshot) →★Gaggia E24Barista TouchOracle Touch
Twelve machines, prices and ratings as Amazon published them on 28 August 2026. The grinder this site covers is excluded — it is not a machine. Price is on a linear axis on purpose: putting it on a log scale would pull the outlier back into the pack and hide the point of the chart.

A third number is missing. Amazon publishes a “bought in past month” figure on 10 of the 12 machines here — 500+ on the Barista Touch — and the two listings with none at all are the Smeg and this one. Absence is not zero sales; Amazon badges expensive items less often. It does mean the volume signal available on almost every other page of this site is not available here.

What it does that nothing else here does

The rating deserves the top of the page. It does not deserve the whole page, because the machine underneath it is doing something no other machine we cover attempts.

Every portafilter machine asks three things of you before the pump starts: grind, dose, tamp. A built-in grinder takes the first away. The Barista Express and the Barista Touch grind straight into the portafilter and get you close on dose. The Oracle Touch is the only one here whose listing says it grinds, doses and tamps — 22 grams, automatically, into a 58 mm portafilter — and then textures the milk on a dedicated boiler with a self-cleaning wand while the shot runs.

Tamping is the step people underestimate. It is not hard, but it is where a beginner’s shots go inconsistent morning to morning: a crooked or uneven tamp channels water through one side of the puck. Removing it removes a real variable. The listing also claims low-pressure pre-infusion, an over-pressure valve, PID temperature control and a dual boiler that extracts and steams at once — the only dual boiler in this set, and one of the few heating claims across these thirteen listings the manufacturer states in writing.

SpecBreville Oracle Touch (BES990)Breville Barista Touch (BES880)Gaggia E24 (RI9380/46)
Price (snapshot)$2300.95$987.99$449.00
HeatingDual boilerNot stated by the listingNot stated by the listing
Portafilter58 mm54 mm58 mm
Built-in grinderYesYesNo
MilkAutomatic steam wandAutomatic steam wandListing operation mode is “Fully Automatic”Manual steam wand
PowerNot stated1680 W1200 W
Water tank67 ozNot statedNot stated
Advertised pressureNot statedNot stated9 bar
Amazon rating3.4★ (597)4.2★ (3,895)4.4★ (3,169)
Snapshot 28 August 2026. "Not stated" means the listing publishes no usable figure — it is a finding about the listing, not a gap in our data. The Oracle Touch's power cell is blank because its listing gives two different wattages; see below.

The 58 mm portafilter, and who it is actually useful to

Every Breville espresso machine here uses a 54 mm portafilter except this one. The Oracle Touch uses 58 mm, and the only other machine we cover that does is the Gaggia E24 at $449.00. Fifty-eight millimetres is the size commercial machines use, which is why the aftermarket exists at that diameter and barely at 54: precision baskets, bottomless portafilters, distribution tools and tampers are made for 58 mm as a matter of course.

There is an irony in that. On the Gaggia, 58 mm is a doorway: you buy the machine and spend years upgrading what goes in it. Here the machine grinds, doses and tamps into that portafilter itself, so the tampers and distribution tools that make up most of the aftermarket solve a problem you paid this machine to solve. Baskets are what is left. The listing ships single-wall 1-cup and 2-cup baskets, and single-wall is the type that responds to grind changes, so a precision basket is a real upgrade path where a tamper is not.

If the fitting is what attracted you rather than the automation, read that as a signal: you want the part of espresso this machine exists to take away, and something here hands it back for a fifth of the money.

What buyers report

597 reviews is thin by this site’s standards — the Barista Express carries 27,821 — but thick enough for patterns, and the pattern here is unusually clean. Amazon names eight review topics. Four are about coffee, four about ownership, they contain almost exactly the same number of mentions, and they disagree completely.

What buyers report — Breville Oracle Touch (BES990)patterns across 597 Amazon reviews · 3.4★ · read 28 August 2026
  • Mixed: Amazon groups the corpus into eight topics totalling 537 mentions, and they divide almost exactly in half: 268 about the coffee, 269 about owning the machine. — the two halves point in opposite directions, which is the whole story of this listing
  • Praised: The four coffee topics run 80% positive — quality, coffee quality, ease of use and taste, 268 mentions between them. — what it makes, when it is working, is not what buyers argue about
  • Complaint: The four ownership topics run 71% negative across 269 mentions — reliability, value for money, durability and heating performance. — the complaint is about the machine as an appliance, not as a coffee maker
  • Complaint: Durability is the most one-sided topic on the listing: 42 of 48 mentions negative. Amazon's own summary of the topic says the machine breaks after a few months of use. — 48 mentions is a count of people who wrote about it, never a failure rate
  • Complaint: Heating performance runs 24 negative to 6 positive, and Amazon's summary of that topic names shots that will not get hot enough and boilers that stop working. — the dual boiler is this machine's headline spec and the topic named after it leans hardest negative
  • Mixed: Value for money is 66 negative to 24 positive, and reliability is the one genuinely split topic at 42 positive to 59 negative. — a corpus that likes the coffee and does not think it was worth the money

Counts are Amazon's own review-topic aggregation on ASIN B073TYYM91 — how many reviews it groups under each topic and how each splits — read 28 August 2026. Every topic total above is computed as positive + negative, never from Amazon's own "mentions" figure, which is unreliable on several listings in this category. On this listing the two agree on all eight topics. Nothing here is quoted from an individual review, collected by us, or drawn from testing, which this site does not do.

Worked example

The same corpus, split two ways

Amazon's eight review topics on this listing, sorted into the ones about what comes out of the machine and the ones about living with it. Counts are the listing's own, read 28 August 2026; each total is positive + negative.

  1. 1Mentions across all eight topics292 positive, 245 negative.537
  2. 2The four topics about the coffeeQuality 142 · Coffee quality 55 · Ease of use 44 · Coffee taste 27 — 268 mentions.80% positive
  3. 3The four topics about owning itReliability 101 · Value for money 90 · Durability 48 · Heating performance 30 — 269 mentions.71% negative
  4. 4Most positive single topicEase of use, 40 of 44 mentions positive.91%
  5. 5Most negative single topicDurability, 42 of 48 mentions negative.88%
  6. 6What the listing warrants"2 year repair warranty", plus Amazon's free 30-day refund/replacement.2 years

The complaint is not that it makes bad coffee. The complaint is that it is an appliance. Almost every review corpus on this site is mostly about the cup. This one splits its attention evenly between the cup and the hardware, likes the first and does not like the second, and that is a different failure mode from a machine people simply find disappointing to drink from.

What none of it gives you is a rate. 42 people writing about breakage is 42 people, out of 597 reviewers, out of an unpublished number of owners. Read it as the risk this purchase carries, not the odds it will happen.

What the listing does not tidy up

Four things are worth knowing before you spend this much, and all four are the listing describing itself inconsistently or not at all.

The wattage appears twice and disagrees with itself. The structured spec field says 1650 watts; a feature bullet on the same page says 1800. That is why the power cell above is blank: recording nothing is the correct response to a listing that gives two figures.

The coffee input field says Ground Coffee on a machine whose own bullets describe a bean-to-cup with a 0.5 lb hopper and an integrated burr grinder. Both can be true, but the structured field a shopping filter reads says only one of them.

The capacity field reads 4.2 pounds — a weight, not a tank size. That field is unusable across this whole category, so the 67 oz tank above comes from the feature text. Dimensions are 14.5"D x 14.7"W x 17.6"H at 35.5 pounds: plan for cabinet clearance.

Who is selling it. On the day we read the page the buy box was held by a single third-party seller — not Amazon, not Breville — with no other seller listed and 0 answered customer questions. On an appliance carrying a 2 year repair warranty and a corpus that argues about breakage, the seller of record decides how straightforward a warranty claim is. Check the buy box on the day you buy, and keep the receipt.

Context rather than contradiction: the listing price of $2799.95 is discounted 18%, and Amazon ranks the machine #53 in Super-Automatic Espresso Machines — a different shelf from the semi-automatics the rest of the Breville range sits on, so that rank is not comparable with the Barista Express’s.

The one thing it still leaves entirely to you

This machine automates almost everything, which makes a tool a fair question rather than an automatic yes. Grind size, dose and tamp are all handled. What is not handled is the ratio: the listing says it doses 22 grams and lets you set drink strength and save up to 8 personalised drinks, so the yield in the cup is the number you are choosing when you adjust those settings, whether or not you know it.

That is worth being deliberate about, because it is the variable with the largest effect on taste and the only one left on this machine. Put 22 grams in the dose box below and try the yields either side of the shot you are getting now.

Brew ratio and flow rate

Runs in your browser. Nothing is sent anywhere.

Dose in
g
Dry coffee in the basket, grams
Yield out
g
Liquid espresso in the cup, grams
Shot time
s
From first drip to stopping the pump
Weigh the liquid in the cup, not the volume. Crema makes a 36 g shot look like anything between 30 and 60 ml, which is why volume-based advice is so unreliable and why a $20 scale changes more shots than a $500 machine upgrade does.
These bands are conventions, not targets. 1:2 in about 25–30 seconds is where most roasters start you, but the only test that matters is whether you like the cup. Nothing here is a measurement of your specific machine.
Brew ratio1:2.00Normale
Flow rate1.29g/secTypical range
Shot time28sec

What $1312.96 buys

Here is the comparison that actually decides this purchase, and it is not against a $449.00 machine. It is against the Barista Touch, which is the same idea one step down: touchscreen, built-in grinder, automatic milk, 54 mm portafilter, 4.2 stars across 3,895 reviews. The Oracle Touch costs 2.3 times as much.

For that multiple you get three things: automatic tamping, a dual boiler instead of a heating system the Barista Touch’s listing declines to name, and the 58 mm fitting. Milk is not on that list. Both machines texture milk automatically. Grinding is not on that list either. Both grind.

So it narrows to one honest test: is tamping the part of espresso you want to stop doing? For most people it is not. Milk is the step that goes wrong publicly, and milk is already solved a thousand dollars lower down. Tamping is a five-second motion you get adequate at inside a week. Paying $1312.96 to delete it, and taking on the durability record above at the same time, is a trade that makes sense only if you have done it for a while and know you dislike it.

We have set the two side by side in Barista Touch vs Oracle Touch, which is the page to read if you are still deciding after this one.

Breville Oracle Touch (BES990)
If automatic tamping is genuinely the reason

Breville Oracle Touch (BES990)

Grinds, doses and tamps 22 g; dual boiler; 58 mm portafilter; automatic microfoam wand; 67 oz tank. 2 year repair warranty. Check the seller of record and the return window before you commit.

View on Amazon

$2300.95 · 597 reviews

Who should buy something else

Anyone whose real problem is milk. That is most people who reach this page. The Barista Touch textures milk automatically to a temperature and foam level you set, with a grinder built in, for $1312.96 less — and rates 4.2 against 3.4 on 6.5 times as many reviews, so the evidence is better as well as cheaper.

Anyone who wants to learn espresso rather than order it. The Gaggia E24 gives you the same 58 mm commercial fitting, a manual wand and nothing automated, and every skill you build on it transfers. It has no grinder, so budget for one — those trade-offs are in Gaggia E24 vs Breville Bambino.

Anyone buying this as a first machine. Nothing here is a beginner problem — ease of use is its most positive topic, 40 of 44 mentions. The problem is spending $2300.95 to find out whether the daily routine is one you want, when that answer costs far less to obtain elsewhere on this site.

And if you buy it anyway, buy it defensively. That is not a dig — it is the only machine here that removes the tamp, and its coffee topics run 80% positive. Just go in knowing that 71% of what owners write about ownership is negative, that the warranty is 2 year repair warranty, and that several durability complaints describe failures arriving after the first year.

Where this leaves you

For most people asking about the Oracle Touch, this is the answer

  • Automatic milk texturing, built-in grinder and a touchscreen — the two chores most buyers actually want gone — for $1312.96 less than the Oracle Touch.
  • 4.2★ across 3,895 Amazon reviews against 3.4★ across 597, read 28 August 2026.
  • What you give up is automatic tamping, the dual boiler and the 58 mm portafilter. If those three are worth $1312.96 to you, buy the Oracle Touch instead — that is a real answer for some people.
  • Amazon publishes a bought-last-month figure of 500+ on this listing and none at all on the Oracle Touch — one more piece of evidence you get here and do not get there.

Prices and ratings are Amazon's, read 28 August 2026, and change without notice. We do not test machines and do not claim to.

Breville Barista Touch (BES880)
Breville

Barista Touch (BES880)

$987.99

View on Amazon

500+ bought last month

How this page was put together, and what our method can and cannot prove, is set out in our editorial policy.